Grumble Cuss (again)

Dammit.  I want to bring old people home with me.

They’re worse than stray puppies & kittens!

And one just had to go and tell  me today, “Oh Miss.  I talked to God in my dream last night & He told me you are supposed to be here.”.

Le sigh.

I found out I can work two 12 hour shifts on the weekends and make what works out to the equivalent to $35/hr. at the place I’m at now.

Maybe God really does want me there…and He’s speaking to me through my wallet.

I’m tired as a dog.  The regular nurse who was supposed to act as my preceptor called in sick.  I was THE nurse today for the patients I’ve been working with.  I didn’t kill any of them, got my work done (although I didn’t do much charting), scratched a few backs, danced down the hall with one guy in a wheel chair, served lunch waitress style & made a bunch of folks giggle, didn’t get cussed at by the lady who was gonna whip my ass yesterday, got thanked by a patient’s daughter for “making Dad smile again”, and once again, most importantly, didn’t kill anybody.

It was a red letter day, I reckon.

But Buddy, you best believe I’m living for tomorrow at 15:00.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:33:11

    I want you to be my nurse when I go into the home! Most people don’t even like old people, much less want to take them home!

  2. Portia
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:05:05

    I have a couple of parents you may want to take home with you…..
    Just kidding of course! They are in their early 80’s and doing very well indeed! My mom has either dementia or Alzheimer’s, we’re still not really sure, but she has more good days than bad right now. They still live in their own house and my dad still drives. for now.

    You must be a special person, working in a nursing home. I hope to never put my folks in one, but if I need to, I hope someone like YOU works there!

  3. Bob Perrow
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:12:25

    Snigs, you’re alright. When they put my sorry old grey a$$ in a nursing home, I hope you’re right there to keep my spirits up………WHOOPS! Maybe I shouldn’t have put it that way………..

  4. Old NFO
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 00:50:25

    Snigs, I just hope you don’t lose that capability for caring… And thank you for making the elderly happy, they above all deserve it!

