Outta the Habit

of working 8 hours a day is kicking my butt.  Especially when those 8 hours consist mainly of pushing that med cart around, trying to run down 40 senior citizens to give each an average of 15 medications.

Gotta crush most things for most of them and about half of them get their meds through a tube straight into the stomach.  Have to mix the crushed pills with vanilla pudding for the ones who can take it by mouth.  Don’t you know that screws up a good dessert?  Peg tubes straight into the stomach are fun, as you have to try to wash that crushed medication through a little tube via a needless syringe that looks like it was made for a horse.  Can you imagine not being able to eat?

One told me today he missed food so bad.

I’ve got a little entourage of old men who follow me around.  I’m their hero they say, because I’ll stop and scratch their backs, listen to their war stories, and sometimes just touch them on the hand or cheek.  Sometimes I smooth their hair back or help them adjust their hats.  Must remain dapper looking I tell them, ’cause you never know when the future Ms. Right might wheel up beside them.

Maybe I said it last week, I don’t know, but one of the elderlies’ biggest complaints is that nobody touches them unless it’s to perform a procedure.

Hey young folk- why the hell can’t you give a caring touch to an old man or old lady?  Afraid you’re going to catch OLD?  You’ll be lucky if you do.  Afraid their wrinkles are going to jump on you?

Yeah, I know a lot of times they don’t smell that great.  Big, fat, hairy ass deal.  Do you think you smelled very great when you were crapping your pants at 2 months old?  What if your Mama had said,  “Ewww.  It stinks.  I’m afraid to touch it.  Let’s just leave it there and go to dinner.”?

Think about it.

And think about Karma.  One day you may be there too.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 22:02:16

    Amen,
    The older folks are a great source of knowledge.
    Heck I am becoming one of the old folks,

  2. snigsspot
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 22:40:21

    You’ve got a longgggg way to go, Rick. Although, you are already a great source of knowledge in my opinion. 🙂

  3. Ed Hering
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:06:55

    I worked in a nursing home as a CNA for seven months. I was constantly told that I was “too slow”. I treated the residents like people, not procedures to be accomplished as quickly as possible.

    “Caring” is only part of the PR; it’s not part of the P&L*.

    Ed

    *=”profit and loss”, balance sheet

  4. snigsspot
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:32:36

    Lord have mercy, Ed. I don’t see how anybody works as a CNA anymore. They have ENTIRELY too much responsibility for WAY too little pay. I’ve seen 1 CNA be responsible for vital signs on 30 patients, baths for those 30 patients, “diaper” changes, linen changes, EVERYTHING on 30 patients for as little as $7.50/hr.

    Although the institution you worked at didn’t agree, I personally thank you for the kindness you bestowed upon those folks for the time you were there. You never know what kind of difference you made in those folks’ lives.

    I don’t know how long I will be able to keep up the pace, but so far, I’m managing my assigned workload & I’m still able to scratch itchy backs, straighten hats, wink & smile at folks, etc… Of course, this week my workload is only 20 patients. Next week, it will be bumped up to 35. Hopefully I can keep it up.

    And Ed, thanks for stopping by! I do hope you’ll return! 🙂

  5. Old NFO
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 02:34:36

    Kindness IS a lost art, especially in nursing care due to staffing cuts, and the infamous bottom line… sigh… Thanks for caring Snigs!

  6. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 09:31:09

    Seen too many of them in those places with the hired help being run to ground. And then there are the ones whose families have minimal contact. I spent time with my two surviving grandparents as much as possible before having to move due to economics.
    OTH. Dedication to the profession by many of the care givers I met was amazing.
    Old reminder……………………..I got another birthday coming up on Saturday. 56.

  7. FrankC
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:31:21

    Catching “OLD” is good. One of these years I’ll start to mature, probably like cheese, with my luck.

  8. snigsspot
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:14:22

    NFO- awe shucks. 😉

    Glenn, quit bitchin’ like you’re old. 56 is young yet. Remember, I’ve got a dad who is 75 that still gets up and works a 40 hour week, doing maintenance & heavy repairs at work. Old is only what you make of it. 😉

    Frank- Mature.like.cheese? Snarfle, gurgle, giggle, chuckle, chortle. 😀

