Ugh

Dear Lord,

Please deliver me from the multitude of college football followers’ posts on facebook.

It would be different IF they’d attended the college.  Or perhaps, if they at least lived in the same state.

Or maybe, just maybe, if they typed their mundane statuses in at least 1/10 English instead of gibberish.

Something about “Go dogs, sick me” just curls my toes though.

It’s gonna be a long football season.

Le sigh.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 17:14:45

    I was just thinking the same thing when I was on a Facebook! Why is someone a Gator’s fan or a Seminoles fan when they never attended the school? Heck, my daughter went to FSU and is not a Seminoles fan.

  2. Morgan
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 19:35:01

    Why is someone a Gator’s fan or a Seminoles fan when they never attended the school?

    That’s such an odd question. Why is someone who’s never lived in Dallas a fan of the Cowboys? Does geography really matter when it comes to being a fan of any sports team? I’ve never attended the University of Texas, but I still rooted for the Longhorns during their championship season a few years back. After seeing them beat Michigan in the Rose Bowl the year before, I knew I needed to keep an eye on that team!

  3. snigsspot
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 20:01:16

    Rooting is different, Morgan.

    Some folks are RABID in their football team support.

    Those are the folks Portia & I are talking about.

  4. Morgan
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 20:27:39

    Mine question, though, still stands: does geography really matter when it comes to being a fan of any sports team?

  5. Bob Perrow
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 23:30:07

    It’s a guy thing, Snigs. GO DAWGS!!!!!!!!!! (from Austin, TX)

  6. Old NFO
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 02:29:05

    That’s why I don’t do Facebook… as for the rabid asshole fans, MANY of them never attended ANY college, much less the one the root for (hell, look at their spelling and punctuation)…

  7. snigsspot
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 11:20:35

    Thank you Bob, for getting what I meant with Go dogs, sick me. 😉

    I think the rabid support has its place- if you attended that school. You can root for any team, no matter the geographical location. I “root” for the closest to home team generally. Or if you want to think about my Southerncentricism, I root for any southern team if they’re playing a Yankee team.

    Frankly though, getting rabidly uptight over ANY sporting event is pretty stupid to me. It’s a ball. They are but men hitting/kicking/carrying said ball around in an enclosed space. Really, what is there to get so excited about?

    And there is no excuse for typing Go Dawgs, Sic ‘Em as Go Dogs, Sick Me.

  8. Bob Perrow
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 11:47:18

    Snigs, I went to UGA, and catch holy you-know-what out here for not supporting the Foghorns. Of course I give it back to them with the last time UGA played tu……….we won not because we were better, but because Texas was stupid!

    But, yes, it’s a game……….I just love to win ’em though. But honestly, I’d rather lose a close game on the last play than to win a blowout. You’re much more involved in every play that way.

  9. snigsspot
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 11:55:41

    You went to UGA, eh? I KNEW there was something inherently RIGHT about you Bob!

  10. Bob Perrow
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 13:24:13

    Yup, an ol’ Tucker boy here.

