Thank God & Greyhound

another aspect of school is gone.

I haven’t enjoyed clinicals much this quarter for two reasons.

Number 1- I don’t really find labor, delivery, obstetrics nor gynecology to be fields I have much interest in.

Number 2- Once again, we’ve been in more of an observation mode than anything else.  I’ve done a lot of assessing & a lot of vital sign obtaining.  Not that there’s anything wrong with assessments & vitals- they WILL be an integral part of my job.  But as usual, I want more.

Show me, teach me, let me do!

Clinicals haven’t been educational since the first quarter of Med/Surg.  I learned then.  Since then, I’ve felt like the non-paid part of the janitorial/CNA staff.

But today was the last day & I worked in the newborn nursery (again).

I took my final vital signs as a student at 1100.  My last little patient was 13 hours old and cute as a button.

He was in Mom’s room, waiting to have his picture taken by the fancy newborn photo group.

And Mom & photographer left this new little fella laying there in nothing but a diaper.

And Mom’s hormones were raging and she had the thermostat on about 12*…below zero.  ***I*** was cold in that room.

And Mom was very young…and didn’t realize she REALLY needed to feed baby.

And baby was shivering.

But,

babies don’t shiver unless they’re VERY cold.

It didn’t take but a few moments to realize this little guy was in serious trouble.  And Mom & photo lady were sorta stomping their feet for me to let them get the picture made.

I calmly told Mom I needed to scoot him back down to the nursery for a good warm up and I’d let her know when he was baked enough to come back.

I boogied down the hall with him in his bassinet, back to the nursery.  I got him stripped and under the warmer he went and I grabbed someone with an ID and a glucometer.

The little guy’s blood sugar was less than 30.  The nurses get real nervous at 45.

Now, how close this little guy was to going out within the same 24 hour period that he made his debut, I can’t really say.

However, the nurse told me I probably saved his life by thinking and acting like a nurse.

Can’t help but say, that made me feel good about myself.

But then, isn’t thinking & acting like a nurse what I’m supposed to do?

All-in-all, it was a great way to end the last day.

Now, I am home & getting to enjoy my 15th anniversary by myself.  Oh well, I just keep thinking about the fact that sweet little baby from room 21 is still in this world & has a shot at a 15th anniversary himself one day and I feel pretty damned good.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rho
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:09:16

    Way to go, NURSE SNIGS!

    I swear most of what we do is common sense (at least to us). These days they can’t teach us in nursing school what we need to know to walk into any nursing situation right out of school and be competent. Nursing is so specialized these days, that you learn how to do your particular brand of nursing when you start working in your area. What most nurses forget is that you take that knowledge base and continually expand it.

  2. Lnda
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 19:01:33

    Oh my! Some of these new moms have no clue. I sure hope that little baby will survive the 1st year. I used to work in the nursery, and a baby can go from good to bad in a matter of seconds.

    Good work! Good common sense! I can’t believe you are almost done.

  3. Portia
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 19:53:26

    I am so glad that little baby had YOU right there!

  4. Old NFO
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 22:53:36

    Good for you!

  5. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 01:01:27

    Well Done! I would say you are a nurse. Just waiting on a piece of paper to say so.
    Be proud. It was no small feat.

  6. Rick
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 01:33:10

    Great job.

  7. Bob Perrow
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 09:21:22

    Good goings, Snigs. We all are grateful for your stepping in there and doing what is right even though nobody else wanted you to.

