15

After today, that 15 feels like 500.

I was in labor & delivery today and helped birth a baby.

Then, my ear started hurting.  It’s been weird every since I went swimming a few weeks back.

Guess what I’ve NEVER had before today?

Even when my eardrum perforated, it never hurt.

That son of a bitch hurts tonight though.  At least the nearly-nursey comes with perks- the doc took my assessment & called in antibiotics, ear drops & pain meds (didn’t even ask for the last two).

Seriously hoping it feels better tomorrow.

Dammit- nearly 41 years without having had an earache & now I’ve got one.  I’m sorta pissy ’bout that.

As to birthin’ babies, that went alright today.  My poor patient though- she was about 7 cm dilated & 70% effaced when her epidural “slipped” out.  That poor girl was in some more pain.  I held her & let her squeeze my fingers (there’s a trick to that, where you don’t wind up with hurt fingers), rocked her & told her to breathe through the contractions while the anesthesiologist put in a new epidural.  Considering I tried the “natural” method the first time, I know the pain she was in.

We got through it and about 30 minutes later, she delivered her fourth youngin.

It was an okay day, but I know that’s NOT where I’d want to work for sure.

Tomorrow, I’m watching C-sections.  Oh joy.  But at least once tomorrow is over, there will only be 14 days- 6 days of tests & 8 preceptorships.

I think I’ll start counting in hours after tomorrow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Perrow
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 01:08:18

    Sorry to hear about the ear infection, Snigs. I realize this could be interpreted awfully badly, but one thing I have done in the past when I feel an ear infection coming on is to put some Neosporin on a Q-tip and wiggle it in both ears (different tip in each ear). How’s that for a sorry floor man telling a nurse how to take care of herself?

    If you want to shoot me, go ahead, but I don’t think a bullet is made that can go from Georgia to Texas.

  2. snigsspot
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 05:48:15

    The nurse doesn’t know everything, ya know?

    No shooting required. 😉

    Hope you’re having a great week & thanks, Bob! 🙂

  3. Crucis
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 10:52:44

    My wife had our daughter “naturally” without an epidural. I was in the delivery room with her during the birth. We had both attended the La Maz (sp?) classes. It did help her. I asked later how much did it hurt and she said none until the doc removed the remaining placenta. It didn’t detach properly so he wrapped it around his hand and pulled it out. THAT HURT! she said.

    OTOH, our daughter had C-sections for her first and third child. The second was vaginal and she said never again. In that, she didn’t take after her mother.

