Funny thing, this growing up

David has been “bored” until the realization hit him yesterday that this is his LAST free summer probably, for the rest of his life.

He’ll be 16 next summer and needing to pay me for the car & pay his own insurance & gas.  That means a job and we all know, once you start, you just can’t stop…

Poor Molly pulled out 100 pounds of Barbie dolls/houses/cars/stuff to play today.  She got everything set up and just looked at it a bit before packing it all back up.  Seems the magic is gone.

I’ve even outgrown my Sims computer games it would seem.  I get it loaded & going and find that the reading sales inserts in the paper is more exciting.

Damn this growing up!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:51:31

    If only we would be able to impress on our kids that they don’t need to grow up too fast, but eventually they do need to grow up!

    I wouldn’t want to be a teenager again for all the $ in the world.

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:55:33

    As long as it is not growing up completely.
    My Grandmother hit me with this just a couple of years after I retired from Active Service……………………When are you going to grow up? You are in your forties for pete’s sake!
    My response was………….NEVER!

