Job hunting

I was told this would be the perfect time to put in job applications, so I’ve passed out enough resumes to paper a good sized wall.

I’m wearing the white scrub outfit- starched, ironed & creased to kill.  Shoes are polished.  Hair is neat, jewelry tasteful.

I had an on-the-spot interview yesterday, as I was told my look “exuded an air of professionalism”.

Anyway, I’ve seriously applied at 2 hospitals and (gack) several nursing homes.  The place that I had the impromptu interview was actually pretty nice.  It didn’t smell, it was clean and there weren’t rows & rows of wheel-chair bound folk lined up in the halls moaning.  They even gave me a quick tour.  It’s 17 minutes from the house and I hear the pay is pretty good too.

We’ll see.

😉

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Skul
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 15:42:53

    That would great if you pulled that one.

    Ya know, the last time I ever exuded anything, everyone in the office bolted for the door.

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 21:04:55

    17 minutes is a good commute! I have a 25 minute one and I am close to the base!
    Pulling for ya!

  3. snigsspot
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 00:05:15

    While the proximity is a plus, I’d still rather work in the hospital than in the nursing home. Not sure how long my heart could take it.

  4. Old NFO
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 05:13:31

    Good luck with the job search… While the commute is definitely a factor, the WORK should be the major player (along with the compensation)… 🙂

  5. Bob Perrow
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 09:16:12

    Three things make up a good job. First, you have to be good at it. Secondly, it’d be nice to enjoy it. Then lastly, it has to give you enough money to take care of your family. Any job that meets these three criteria is a good career move.

    Heck, I’ve made a good life for myself sanding wood floors, a dirty job in anyone’s book, and I love it.

  6. Morgan
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 11:36:58

    All the best to you in your job hunting.

  7. Rho
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 12:25:57

    Good luck!

  8. snigsspot
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 14:38:43

    Thanks guys, we’ll see what happens. I can’t be hired-hired until I pass the NCLEX, but I can be hired temporarily upon graduation at least.

  9. Rick
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 15:28:22

    BEST OF LUCK

