The road not taken

Ya know, if you’re spending all your time in the past, thinking about what shoulda, coulda, woulda been…

don’t get offended when the rest of the folks in your life don’t want to go down that road again.

I got called a cold-hearted bitch this morning by my own mother because I told her she needed to let the past go and that spending countless hours at night rehashing 68 years was making her ill-tempered, hard to live with and bitter.

She’s missing some mighty good times in the here and now by hanging out in the past trying to figure out what she could have done differently.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crucis
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 15:27:28

    What’s done, is done. There are no do-overs in life. As my pastor likes to say, on our tombstones, there are two dates connected by a dash. Like is all about that dash. Make the most of it.

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 21:34:27

    Sort of like my Mom. Since my Dad passed on Remembrance Day of 1991, she has been mad at the world. Not much one can do, is there?

  3. Rick
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 23:36:58

    Like my mom and her sisters

  4. Pam
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 23:54:52

    Sounds like our Moms are the same. I’ve distanced myself from mine because I can no longer stand to hear it. I feel a little guilty that I only call her on holidays and birthday but I can’t stand to hear it , my happiness is worth something.

  5. snigsspot
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 01:16:02

    I can’t distance myself too well, considering I’m the only child and they’re my next-door neighbors. She’s making my Dad miserable too & that bothers me as much as anything.

  6. Crucis
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:31:10

    Snigs—being too close is one reason why my wife and I stayed in KC after I got out of the AF. Our folks live in Illinois, just a bit south of St. Louis.

    Three hundred miles was a good number, we figured. Far enough away our relatives didn’t drop in at any time of the day, but close enough that we could get there in an emergency with an afternoon drive.

    Mrs Crucis sister is like your mother. Hence, we communicate via e-mail.

