Pardon Me, but BTFO!

Attention grandparents- before you call your children to complain about the absolutely horrific way they are raising your sweet, beloved, wonderful, fantastic, never-do-anything-wrong grandchildren consider the damned source.

In the past week, I have been thrashed out TWICE over my hideous mothering abilities.

First, it was because I was forcing their darling little grandchildren to take part in something I like, not something they wanted to do- Drama Camp.

Background:  The KIDS applied to drama camp for scholarships.  They’ve begged me for THREE years to allow them to take part in it.  I’ve never had enough money to pay their way & have always said no, but this year, they were persistent and the theater president called and told me they could both get scholarships if they made the effort to complete the paperwork and got their teachers to recommend them for said scholarships.  I never saw the paperwork & had nothing to do with teacher recommendations.  They got their scholarships, so apparently they wanted to be a part of the deal.  It would have suited me fine if they weren’t- as it’s meant multiple trips to & from camp, me having to prepare them sack lunches (more on that shortly) nightly, and time out of my day when I could have been doing something *I* wanted to do.

Anyway, seems the eldest went to Grandma & Grandpa and complained that he was hot & tired and whine & whine, poor-pitiful-me, etc…

My mother calls me and chews my ass out, up one side and down the other, for forcing darling son to participate and I was ready to beat the child senseless for implying it was all *my* fault.  He came in and since shit travels downhill & picks up speed, I started gnawing on him hot & heavy.  Turns out, she took what he said wayyyyy out of proportion and that he was just blowing off steam.

So, I made him call her and explain the whole situation, who had chosen to stay up late the night before & was therefore tired as a dog, who wanted to do drama camp to start with, etc…

And I thought the problem was solved.

Then, this evening my father chews me out for not making them sack lunches the past three days for lunch.  Instead, I *made* them have to WALK (oh, the huge manatee!) to Subway and get their food!  Alas- the shock, the horror, the heat, run for your lives, the end is nigh!  (His workshop is next door to the theater, so they visit him during their lunch break)

Woah, buster!  I have offered to make them sack lunches the whole time, but THEY wanted to walk to Subway WITH THEIR FRIENDS and eat.  Makes Molly feel rather big, considering she’s the youngest girl there & she’s being included with the crowd of older girls.  Considering I bought 6 packs of sandwich meat, 2 loaves of bread & 4 bags of chips for them to take this week, it would have been cheaper for them to eat from home too.

Wait a minute….

HE GAVE THEM THE MONEY TO FACILITATE THEIR TRIPS TO SUBWAY!

I had Molly call and assure him that neither of them was hurting from their walking trip (1 blessed block) and they were doing it because they wanted to.

I’m really starting to worry about my folks.  I wonder if they’re slipping.

Or is this just the grandparent way??

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 22:33:15

    Maybe it’s just their way of showing how much they care. Uh-oh. Was that sarcastic? Bad me.

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 01:31:50

    Not this set of Grandparents! Not by a damn sight!

  3. skul
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 03:25:38

    Guess I was lucky.
    Mine never did do that.
    I suppose they were comfortable about how I was raised.
    Maybe that says a lot about about my folks.
    Gotta thank them for that.

    Take care of those tests Snigs.

  4. Old NFO
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 21:47:52

    Who knows… EVERY family is different…

  5. The Old Man
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 05:20:51

    Saw a t-shirt yesterday that explained it all:

    “Grandpa is My Name
    Spoiling is My Game”

    Guy was younger than me, too. Of course , I’M not guilty… much.

