Monumentum Dies

According to 5 English to Latin translators, that is Latin for Memorial Day.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to post for today.  So many, including myself in the past, have a habit of mixing up the meaning of Memorial Day with that of Veteran’s Day.  This was pointed out to me by a dear friend just a couple of days ago.  If memory serves me correctly, I told him at least they were remembering something, so their hearts were in the right place.

Memorial Day- a day to remember & honor those men & women who made the ultimate sacrifice.

But…

Doesn’t every soldier who is involved in active combat make a sacrifice as well?  I cannot believe that you could watch your friends (seems like a mighty bland word to use in this instance, but my brain fails to come up with a better word) die beside you…or…pull the trigger to fell the enemy…without losing a tiny part of your soul…of yourself.

So, while today may be Monumentum Dies, I will be thinking of all soldiers- past & present, dead & alive- thanking them for what they’ve done for me and praying for them & their families for continued strength.  You all have my greatest admiration and deepest respect.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenn Mark Cassel
    May 31, 2010 @ 11:48:24

    From one who has served for those who can no longer answer, I thank you in their stead.

  2. Old NFO
    May 31, 2010 @ 14:57:49

    Thank you for remembering Snigs. And yes, regardless, the military changes people…

  3. Skul
    May 31, 2010 @ 17:13:52

    You’re very welcome, Snigs.
    Thank you.

  4. Rick
    May 31, 2010 @ 19:29:24

    Great point

