Wanted: Cave w/o Snakes or Spiders

I’ve been told back in the olden days, when an Indian woman was having that time of the month, she’d go off by herself to a cave to spend the week.

I was also told that was because she was “unclean” in the eyes of the rest of the tribe.

I call BULLSHIT.

She went to her cave by herself because her family was about to drive her nuts and she knew she didn’t have enough arrowheads & spears to do them all in.

Not to mention, the clean-up after.

Why folks can’t understand it the FIRST time you say, “I’m not being mean, but I feel like shit, my nerves feel raw & I really just want to be quiet & left alone.”, is beyond me.  That seems to be when everybody turns into a freakin’ Chatty Cathy.

What are you doing?

I’m cooking supper. [Seems obvious]

What are we having?

Hamburger steak, peas, turnip greens & squash. [Once again, it seems pretty damned obvious]

Want some help?

No, I’ve got it covered.

You know, the other day blah-blah-blah…

And I pick up a damned hamburger steak with my hand instead of spatula.

PLEASE Marvin K. Mooney, won’t you just go on now?

Then, after I’ve explained the peace & quiet thing a dozen times, they act hurt because that vein on my forehead is standing out like a neon sign & I have picked up the butcher knife for no apparent food-related reason.

>.<

I intend to stock my cave with coffee, copious amounts of chocolate, potato chips & toilet paper.  What more could a girl need?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    May 30, 2010 @ 22:08:04

    Strawberries???

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    May 31, 2010 @ 01:44:11

    What Old NFO said.
    Two wives, two sisters, two daughters and a thirteen year old granddaughter. Duck and cover! 8)
    Been there. So been there!

  3. Rick
    May 31, 2010 @ 19:30:54

    Vodka?

  4. snigsspot
    May 31, 2010 @ 19:40:34

    I like strawberry preserves, but I’m not particularly fond of strawberries.

    Glenn, you deserve a medal for being amongst that much estrogen

    Rick, I might forget why I was in my cave if I had much vodka. 😀 Although, a small vodka tonic with a twist of lime never really hurt anyone, did it?

