How’s Your Backhand?

Backhanded compliment?

I thinkz I hadz one today.

I was giving meds today.  Neither the process, nor the idea of it intimidates me.

Teacher says, “You’re either the smartest or the dumbest student I’ve had yet.”.

Pardon??  Blink, blink.

“Nothing flusters you.  You either know what you’re doing or you’re too dumb to realize you don’t.”.

I answered simply, “I have neither killed the patient, nor have you had to stop me to keep me from killing the patient, therefore one must assume that I do in fact know what I’m doing.  I’m not sure that relates in any way to a comparison of my intelligence to anyone else, but if that floats your boat, float on.”.

Totally unrelated, I sliced my thumb open, nearly to the bone, with a pill cutter.  I think I need to head back to the eye doc’s, because I’ve still not adjusted to these new contacts.  I didn’t *think* my thumb was that close to the blade.

One alcohol pad later and I knew it had been.

Then started the blood.  Jesus, I bleed like a stuck pig these days.  Down my uniform, on my shoes, on the floor, on the bedside table, nearly on the patient.  Three bandaids later & a ton of pressure & the bleeding stopped.  It sure is sore though.  >.<

Anyway, back to the mine tomorrow.

14 weeks, 3 days!

😀

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    May 10, 2010 @ 21:08:23

    You must have gotten mono-vision set up… THAT just screwed your depth perception all to hell (and will for a LONG time, unless it’s your dominant eye that is close vision)…

  2. Bob Perrow
    May 11, 2010 @ 00:25:25

    Snigs,

    Little slices like that are why us carpenter types love electrical tape. Just unwind it enough to go around whatever part of your body you cut three or so times, stretch it out a little bit, and then wrap the cut and no mo’ blood. I don’t know if you knew that old trick or not, but it’s a goodie. Just don’t wrap the cut too tightly or it can cut off circulation. Stays on the finger or whatever WAY better than a bandaid too.

  3. Rick
    May 11, 2010 @ 01:15:44

    Ouch my thumb hurts in sympathy

  4. Crucis
    May 11, 2010 @ 12:51:58

    A few years ago I was taking a ton of aspirin for pain—something like eight 600mg tabs a day.

    I poisoned myself.

    Blood clotting went down the tubes and I was getting bruises all over just brushing by stuff. Whenever I sneezed, it was like a red Old Faithful all over my clothes and nearby surroundings. Finally I talked to my doc and he clued me in and I switched to Tylenol.

    Since I was taking so much Tylenol, the doc got concerned about potential liver issues, so I’m now on Ibuprofen. When I get too much of that, I’ll bet I’m back on aspirin.

  5. skul
    May 11, 2010 @ 12:54:07

    Well, that only goes to prove what I’ve always thought.
    Females and sharp objects don’t mix.

    ouch!

  6. snigsspot
    May 11, 2010 @ 19:11:02

    They frown on electrical tape on nurse’s hands I imagine, Bob. I have done that before though.

    NFO- No, just a new regular Rx. New toric lens in the left eye though- don’t think I really need it.

    Rick- Thank you. 🙂

    Crucis- One baby aspirin can make you bleed like a stuck pig…I take a ton of Ibuprofen and it tends to do me the same.

    Skul- I am going to bonk you on the head if you continue with that line of posting. 😉

  7. skul
    May 11, 2010 @ 21:22:37

    Heh, I run faster scared than you do mad.

    (and I’ll be on dry ground)

  8. snigsspot
    May 11, 2010 @ 21:35:49

    Like I tell my kids- you can run, but you cannot hide. Not to mention, you’ve got to come back some time or another.

    😉

  9. Mariah
    May 12, 2010 @ 17:33:01

    Crazy how people don’t know how to handle (y)our brilliance. 😉

