Sink, swim, or tread, I don’t care

but STFU about it.

At clinical Tuesday, we had a critical incident occur.  A critical incident is anything that could wind up being harmful to the patient- screwed up medications, doing something leads to a patient falling, ANYTHING that isn’t good for the patient.

The critical incident was one of my fellow students telling the nurse, “No I cannot take the patient’s vital signs while she receives a blood transfusion, because it’s time for me to go to lunch.” and she walked off the unit without telling anyone about it.  Somewhere along the line, she got the idea this was a Union gig and her lunch time was her lunch time, no matter what was going on.  (For those that don’t know- when a patient is receiving a blood transfusion, their vitals have to be taken at very specific intervals to assure no signs of reaction are taking place)

She’d been attending my patients as well, while I was at lunch and left them for me- wet & covered with shit after telling me “Nothing was going on with either of them” and that’s the same thing she told me about her patients, as I was to cover for her during her break.

Anyway, the regular nurse told the teacher (as she well should have) and the teacher’s reaction was, “Huh?!?”.  One of my other classmates chose to inform her as to what the nurse was talking about.  The teacher was then gunning for the team leader (as she well should have) and the classmate that told about the incident took up for her.

Now, everyone thinks that classmate is a rotten snitch.

Insert rolling eyes here.  In fact, insert eyes rolling to the back of the head & back again, several times.

Anyway, the student who committed the critical incident failed for the week.  Critical incidents are an automatic 40 points off.  Now, I don’t giggle at her for losing those points & failing, however, she is the biggest damned Know It All in the class.  She is always right (even though she doesn’t have the highest grade average), in one breath she tells how she studies all the time- in the tub, when eating, when waiting in line at the grocery store and in the other breath she tells that she has a “photographic memory”.  Last I checked, folks with photographic memories didn’t have to study all the endearing time.  She also thinks she’s got this nursing thing in the bag.  Oh, did I mention that she’s a drama queen & really hammed it up when we were practicing drawing blood on each other?  The student that stuck her missed the vein, she bled about 3 drops and promptly had to put her head between her knees because she felt sick & was about to pass out from “all the blood loss”.

And I thought *I* was the class actress.

Oh puh-lease.

Anyway, she nearly shits her pants over a B & cries over a C, so I can only imagine what an F on her pristine (in her mind) record will do for her.

I hope the hell it makes her more likely to do her damned job.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 09:12:01

    This woman should not be in the nursing field. Maybe she can go to work in a factory that makes Tupperware!

  2. rhodaloo
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 19:20:57

    *rolls eyes* If I had a dime for every time lunch didn’t occur when I wanted it or was cut short, I’d be rich. Yesterday I was down to the last few bites of my lunch when I heard over the radio that I was needed in the nurse’s office. Since those ladies NEVER call unless it’s an emergency, I hurried back . Oh, joy, someone was having a seizure.

  3. Old NFO
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 21:00:12

    Maybe she’ll go get a job she’s ‘qualifed’ for… Like Wally World greeter…

  4. snigsspot
    May 01, 2010 @ 01:52:09

    The thing is, this woman isn’t stupid. If I had to name it, I’d call it an inferiority complex & she makes up for it by acting like she’s all that & the bag of chips.

    Her worst fault in my opinion is how anal retentive she is. No flexibility. None, zip, zilch, nada, nil. She doesn’t handle criticism at all (and tries to prove why she isn’t wrong in what she’s doing) and I’m afraid the inflexibility paired with not being able to handle criticism is what would keep her from making a good nurse.

    I can hear her now telling a doctor somewhere that his diagnosis was wrong because Book X said blah-blah-blah.

    Yeah, that would go over great, wouldn’t it?

  5. The Old Man
    May 01, 2010 @ 18:55:10

    Sounds like she is NOT temperamentally suited to any field of endeavor that requires flexibility – and God knows nursing is one that does.
    Having said that, it is painfully obvious that she will do well under Obamacare with it’s accent on rules and control and dismissal of proper patient care. Perhaps she’s most fitted to chair a “death panel”….

