Hello Mulberry Bush

I feel like I’m on my 3rd or 4th trip around one anyway.

Clinicals start tomorrow with orientation.  I was a lucky ducky and drew the even further away hospital out of the hat. >.<

Looks like I’ll be leaving at 0445 for nine of the 16 days.  The other seven will be later departure times, thankfully.

Not sure how I feel about those 8 days.  One of them, I’ll be riding with a home health nurse.  Been there, done that.  One day I’ll be at a mental health clinic that morning and an oncology center that afternoon.  I’m afraid they might not let me leave the mental health clinic.  Two of the seven will be spent at Adult Daycare centers.  Oh joy.  Another will be spent at an Alzheimer’s Unit.   The other 3- a Career Fair (not so bad, we won’t be there but from 0900-1200; Field Day (I shit you not.  40 and having to attend a Field Day >.<) and the 3rd is a secret- can’t tell you about it until after it happens.

Of my 8 days at the hospital, I’m in OR one day & pushing meds 2 days.  That means I only have 5 days on the floor.  That bothers me.  I’d really rather be doing what I’m going to be doing once I graduate.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 23:12:48

    It’s a ‘learning’ experience… chalk it up and go on 🙂

  2. Ami
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 23:56:55

    So I haven’t read back far enough on your blog to know exactly what you’ll be doing after graduation, but it does not sound like something I’d want to do… bodily fluids bother me.

    Good luck on the early early early rising.. that STINKS.

  3. snigsspot
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 00:12:01

    NFO- You just dated yourself. They don’t use chalk anymore, so I’ll have to dry erase it and go on. 😛

    Ami- Nursing. LPN for now, on to RN next year. I think my hidden S&M side likes the needles & bodily fluids. My other side likes the paycheck that comes with the letters after the name. 😉

  4. Crucis
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 11:57:49

    Looks like you’ll have a busy few weeks. Keep it up. Everything worth having and worth doing has a cost. And the skills you acquire will be well earned. We value what we’ve earned. The greater the cost the move valued.

    BTW, my daughter finished her CNA training and passed her certification test. She not sure yet what her next step will be. The nursing home where she did her clinicals have asked her to apply for a job. That was her main motivation—acquiring skills for a better job. It’s much better than working a Pizza Hut.

    Here in KC, nursing school is a full-time list of courses and all are scheduled during the day, through the week. There’s no provisions for part-time or Saturday students. I’ve encouraged her to continue on her path towards an RN. Her cousin, my niece, in Illinois is a RN and has been providing some advice.

    Keep up the work. The ends will justify all the effort.

  5. snigsspot
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 17:18:04

    Please do keep encouraging her! CNAs do lots of dirty work and they’re paid dirty too, meaning not near enough for the responsibilities. They work those ladies (and the occasional gentleman) like they were dogs. LPN & RN positions pay so much more and though the responsibilities are great, the actually job isn’t near what the CNA jobs are.

    I’ve known all my life anything worth having was worth working for. A good work ethic is something I have. Some of this training makes me want to pull my hair out, but I know it won’t last forever.

    😉

  6. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 21:12:37

    But remember this. At least you have a plan going around the Mulberry Bush. There are a lot of your fellow students who seem to not have one. Just from your postings.
    Hang in there, kiddo. Your regular readers out here are with you all the way! 😉

  7. Rho
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 21:37:11

    Oh, my lord! No wonder I didn’t see you on-line last night. When do they expect you to sleep? Hang in there! Keep reminding yourself the type of salary you’ll make when you get out. Who knows maybe someday we’ll be able to afford to take a trip together.

