Happy Birthday to MY Hero

Happy 75th Birthday, Daddy!

From back over the years- (forgive the picture quality.  Not that it was “high” to start with, but these are pics I took of pics.)

Less than 2 years old and already had chores.  This one being gathering eggs.(1936)

Doing dishes to impress some ladies.  (1954-ish)

Hard work, long days, not much pay.  Building runways for Columbus

Air Base in Columbus, Mississippi.  (1957)

Mom & Dad- 1972

Mama would kill me if she knew I posted this one- her eyes were half closed, but they bought the pic anyway-

A few years later, taking me to Kindergarten Graduation in 1976.

And Daddy & I in 1981-

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Morgan
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 05:17:36

    A happy birthday to your dad from me, and many more such birthdays.

  2. snigsspot
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 10:35:50

    Thanks! Despite a heart attack & a quad-by-pass, he’s in pretty good shape. He can still do things *I* can’t do physically- like jump over the rail of their porch (which is 5 feet off the ground), land on his feet & take off running. However, I’ve seen a decline in his health the past couple of years and sometimes it’s all I can do to not sit and cry, because I get to thinking that he’s lived well more than half his life and I’m just not ready (and NEVER will be ready) to tell my Daddy goodbye.

  3. Wyatt Earp
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 13:01:31

    Happy Birthday,Mr. Snigs! May you have many more!

  4. Old NFO
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 22:03:00

    Yep, wish him a Happy one for me!

  5. Bob Perrow
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 23:12:50

    Congrats to Mr. Snigs on a life well lived. It is a good thing to have a daughter who thinks you are a hero. I have two daughters, and one of them fits the description.

  6. snigsspot
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 10:24:27

    Thanks all. He said he had a good birthday, despite the cake being a complete disaster (more on that later). He’s still refusing to retire- not that anyone is trying to force him to. I just keep suggesting he do where he & mama could spend the “golden years” traveling or doing something enjoyable.

    Turns out, getting up & going to work IS enjoyable to him.

    The only drawback to being healthy & 75 seems to be that so many of your friends are gone. He was over here the other day, having me look up the phone number for an old friend. Instead of finding his number, we found his obituary notice from a week earlier.

    The man in the pic above helping do the dishes was a really good friend of his. I called him Uncle Charles, despite him being no relation to us. He died last year.

    Longevity runs in the family though- his sister died a few years back and she was 96. His brother died a couple of years later and he was 95. Both were in their right minds & in pretty good physical shape, so I’m hoping I have at least 20 more years. 🙂

    And Charles- I’m glad you’re your daughter’s hero. (Truth be told, I bet you’re hero to them both!)

  7. Bob Perrow
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 00:48:34

    Well, no, I’m not hero to them both. One came out of the womb pushing me away and hasn’t stopped yet. She’s married with two daughters of her own, and we n e v e r talk. No birthday wishes, no Father’s Day cards, no Christmas visits, no seeing the grandkids.

    Heck, you’d think I’m some kind of animal the way she acts. And for me, well I’m just plain fed up with being treated like something that got tracked out of the cow pasture.

    I would say it feels good to give up . . . but it doesn’t. If only we could all be as holy as she thinks she is.

  8. snigsspot
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 01:05:21

    Oh Bob (I thought you were Charles. I apologize for being confused earlier.)

    I’m sincerely sorry & feel as though I need a crowbar to extract my foot from my mouth. I know it doesn’t feel good to give up, just my knowing is from a different prospective. I cannot imagine tossing a parent aside, no matter the circumstances and I can only hope that your daughter sees the reality at some point in her life that Dad IS important before it’s too late.

    There’s no making up lost time, but hopefully one day y’all can at least somewhat heal your relationship.

    I know it’s got to hurt you & she may not realize it, but she’s hurting herself (and her children) too.

  9. Rick
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 02:22:52

    Happy Brithday Sir.And many more Happy ones

  10. Bob Perrow
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 09:04:01

    Hey thanks, Snigs. It helps that someone just listens…………

  11. snigsspot
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 10:24:16

    Any time, Bob. I’m a pretty good listener & if you ever want need to share more, but not with the whole world, email me.

