I wonder

I wonder if the money wasted with the Census this year couldn’t have paid for the Health Care plan in its entirety.

Now, I’m not calling the actual Census & the workers “wasteful”.  I understand the purpose of it and as a um, what was I called?,  Census worker from 2000, I applaud the folks willing to go door to door to do their job.  Their pay is suitable to the job.

But all that damned mail?

A week before the forms were mailed, we got a letter in an envelope saying it was coming.

Then we got the form itself.

A week later, we got a post card.

And today, I got ANOTHER damned form- in case I hadn’t filed out the first one.

Gotta love it when the government “tightens its belt”, don’t ya?  Maybe the USPS is out of the crapper for the time being at least.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ami
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 18:14:29

    Wait. You’re saying that our government… the guys and gals who promise to uphold the Constitution and all that… might possibly be wasting our money?

    Wow.

    Color ME surprised.

    Regarding the census… it seems to me that I recall reading somewhere that the only questions we’re required to answer are how many people live in our home.
    I wonder how many people will fill out the whole intrusive thing.

  2. snigsspot
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 19:23:48

    I filled out first names, month & day of birth, male/female, and relationship status. Above & beyond that, they can kiss my rosy hiney.

  3. Old NFO
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 21:40:01

    American… That’s my answer and I’m sticking to it… 🙂

  4. j.biros
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 00:19:01

    Cindy,
    you got sent another form so they can count you twice.

    2 Forms = 2 housholds= more people= more representation( thats how the y figure the number of Congressmen and redistricting) = more Dems in Congress.

    It is like voting twice or dead people voting, its the Chicago way! 😉

    Happy Easter to you and yours.

  5. Mrs. Crankipants
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 13:52:21

    First we got a a letter to let us know the census was going to arrive, then the census arrived (which I filled out and promptly returned), then we received a postcard to let us know the census should have arrived. My kid came home from school with a reminder that we should fill out our census form. And on Thursday, we got another census form in the mail. Enough already!

    Apparently, the government are also leaving reminders in fortune cookies.

    http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2010/02/25/census-counts-on-fortune-cookies/tab/article/

