I tried…

to be nice.

There is this chick who is constantly harping on my appearance.  Sometimes, it’s complimentary, sometimes it’s snarky.

You’re so neat.

Your clothes match.

Your jewelry matches your clothes.

Etc…

Today, it was- “I’m amazed.  One day I see you in jeans & a t-shirt.  The next, you are all fancied up.”.

Yeah, yesterday I wore jeans & a t-shirt.  Today, I wore slacks & a light sweater.  Didn’t see myself as “fancied” up.  The slacks were beige, the sweater brown and I wore brown shoes & jewelry with brown stones.  Nothing “fancy”, considering I left the chiffon & tulle at home.

I replied with all that seemed appropriate at the time, “Um, thanks.”.

She continued though-

“I don’t think I could pull that off.  You must not have anything else to do with your time.”

“Come again?”

“Yeah.  You must not have anything else to do but doll yourself up.”

Right eyebrow rises along with ire.

“Have you ever considered that just maybe I have more to work with than you do?”

I thought my best friend was going to roll when I said it and I thought the “offender” was going to start a parking deck in her mouth…it was sorta hanging open in a big way.

Some folks just don’t know when to stop, do they?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 09:17:44

    Had a fashion conscious girlfriend like that once, many years ago. Good thing we didn’t get married.

  2. Mrs. Crankipants
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:32:08

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

  3. Mariah
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 14:24:35

    Wow.

    Some people have no tact.

    Great comeback, though! 🙂

  4. snigsspot
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 16:58:13

    Glenn, trust me, I’m no diva. I like to match & I like to be neat. I’m not a clothes horse & I’m wayyyy not a shoe horse. It doesn’t take me but about 20 minutes to get ready including the contact insertion & toothbrushing, so it’s not like I preen all day either.

    If she’d stopped at “I don’t have time to really get myself together in the mornings.” or something similar, I wouldn’t have said anything other than “I hear ya”. She just had to push it and accuse me of not having anything to do.

  5. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 21:22:42

    The young lady I speak of came over early on a Saturday for what ever we were going to do. She brought her “face kit” And lo and behold she put on her face that morning. Right there. And she was amazingly gorgeous without any of it.
    Ya ought ta see me. Drives my daughter nuts! And my eldest grand-daughter at times.

  6. Old NFO
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 00:08:49

    hehehe- surprised it took you THIS long… 🙂 Just sayin…

