I guess I’ve arrived

My mom called me about an hour ago to come check on my dad. Of course the call was to bring David his contact case, but oh, by the way…your dad’s blood pressure is running low.

HOW low?

100/50.

O.o

Since when?

This afternoon.

Yeah, I’m coming.

Got there and asked him what he’d drank today. “Not much.”.

“Not much meaning HOW much?”.

A cup of coffee at breakfast, a glass of tea at lunch and part of a glass of tea at Burger King.

Blink.

Drink something, put your feet up, NOW!

He drank a glass of milk and a big glass of tea. I made him put the recliner all the way back, where his feet were in the air.

Oh and I listened to his lungs. He’s had a lingering cough for um, 9 weeks now because he won’t go to the doctor and he won’t take the OTC meds like he’s supposed to either. When I told him there was quite a bit of noise coming from his right lung, he actually looked at me like he thought I knew what I was talking about.

It was up to 104/64 when I left.  Told him to sleep with his feet up, but I doubt he’ll do that.

If the blood pressure is still running low tomorrow, *I’m* calling his cardiologist myself.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wai
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 00:49:06

    Wouldn’t bacon have made his blood pressure rise?

  2. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 02:01:04

    Been there myself, sort of. And it is a rather unique thing. They, the parents, act like we did when we were kids. Role reversal. In my Dad’s case it was colon and liver cancer. At least you can be instrumental in caring for your Dad. They can be a real pain in the butt in circumstances like this. Hang in there, m’lady. Hang in there. With ya. Already let the man upstairs know.

  3. snigsspot
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 07:49:46

    Thanks Glenn. I do appreciate it.

    I think I left out the main point of my post- normally, my parents don’t think I know enough about things to consult with. Like I’ve never gotten past 4 years old. Apparently they think I *do* know something about what I’ve been studying the last 6 months, or they wouldn’t have called & wouldn’t have allowed me to sorta check him out.

    Wai, oh 😛 😛 😛

  4. Old NFO
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 22:34:29

    Good call Snigs… and yes, call the cardio doc tomorrow…

  5. Charles Pergiel
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:18:07

    I just don’t know what to say.

  6. snigsspot
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:58:06

    He was fine & dandy today, so hopefully I was right in my assessment of lack of fluids yesterday. Mama says it happens once in a blue moon- always scary though considering the bypass surgery several years back and previous heart attack.

