Ahhh

The sun is shining (basically) and I feel human again (pretty much).  I’m thinking of going outside for a bit (fat chance), but it’s a bit muddy (understatement).  Today is a great day for computer gaming (or sleeping).

Seriously, I do feel better today- like I might actually live to see another month.

Waiting on Uncle Sam to come through for me where I can go ahead and pay the house payment early & get my new-ish car. Oh and pay the arm & leg for new contacts for a year for the kids & me and new glasses for the kids & the husband.  Thankfully insurance brought that total down to $600 out of pocket for all of us.  Expensive yes, but 36 pairs of contacts & 3 pairs of glasses (one bifocal), all 3 feather weight & with Transitions lenses…can’t complain at all.

The good news:  son’s eyes are about the same, the husband’s eyes aren’t showing any signs of diabetic related problems, my distant vision hasn’t changed- I still can’t see the GIANT E at the top of the chart without my glasses or contacts.

The bad news:  daughter’s eyes are trying to get as awful as mine, the husband has a cataract starting to form, and my near vision is now going.  Le sigh.

Maybe by Monday…maybe.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariah
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 12:10:08

    Glad to hear you’re back on top of things a bit.. every small baby step counts.

    Totally know how you feel… the last few weeks I feel like I’ve been tied to the hitch of a truck. And it keeps accelerating!

    Sigh. I would say thank goodness for weekends, where I can push off my to do list for an extra hour of sleep… except it’s lost this weekend. haha

  2. Linda
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 12:50:41

    Your eyes sound as bad as my teeth! We don’t have insurance for them, but our dentist has started giving us a ‘cash’ discount. We pay before we leave the office.

    Hang in there. Spring is around the corner!

  3. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 19:33:15

    At 42, I went from no specs to bifocals. At 51 I went into trifocals. The advantage I have is being Retired from the Armed Forces. I get a pair once a year courtesy of the Department of Veterans Affairs and the nearest Armed Forces Medical Facility. Not very fashionable but at my age, so what!
    Did the glasses thing though with two of the four kids back when. Not easy, vision care was not a priority for dependents. And with the way Ali obammy and his band of thieves are operating, I may not have the “promise made” kept. The one that me and Old NFO got many long years ago.

  4. D.
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 02:49:10

    Glad you are able to get some things that you all really need. I sent up a prayer about your tests Monday and Wednesday.

    🙂

