Halp!

I’ve found myself buried under an avalanche of homework this weekend.  I love my clinical instructor.  I love all the wisdom she [attempts] to deposit in my brain…some of it has actually stuck.

Sometimes though, I think she forgets we have another class.  A class with at least one test every time we meet, but usually two.  A class with graded homework.

She has a tendency to give us additional homework and we’re very compelled to do said work, even though it’s not graded.

And for whatever reason, nobody (including me) wants to disappoint this teacher.  She stretches the brain to the max, expects total recall- quickly and expects everyone to rise above and beyond.

She’s not expecting anything she isn’t capable of though.  She does tons of extra work for us, is more accurate than the Davis Drug Guide,  and she corrects everything we do, graded or not and writes tons of “helpful” information on our papers.

But damn, it took me a solid six hours to do my homework today and I’m one of the smart ones.  Oh shit, oh damn, oh hell- I’M NOT THROUGH!  I forgot to write my papers on what I learned in Wound Care & Endoscopy.  Face-palm.

Today’s homework-

Assessment data over-view
Care plan (1 dx, 3 outcomes,  3 interventions, 3 rationales, 3 evaluations)
Med sheet- 25 meds
Rx A-Z- 60 odd medications, their generic equivalents and their uses
Drug admin assessment
100 questions from a LPN/RN hiring test
Q & A for endoscopy & wound care
One page typed paper on”What I Learned In _____” for endo & wound care

Care plans are…special.  That’s the only word I can think of to describe them.  They have to be the result of governmental intervention, because they’re full of grandiose wordage and bluntly- bull shit.

Basically they are:
*What’s the problem?
*What do you want the end result to be?
*What do you need to do to reach that end result?
*Why?
*What happened?

So the problem is risk of infection.  I want the end result to be no infection happening.  I need to wash my hands when dealing w/ the pt’s wound, clean the wound appropriately, monitor for the early signs/symptoms of infection.  Why?  Because I don’t want any dadburned infection, that’s why!  End result- pt suffered no infection.

Is that acceptable?  Oh.  Hell.  No.

Everything has to be measurable.  Thankfully, the teacher does accept “zero” as measurable.  The pt will exhibit ZERO signs/symptoms of infection during my shift from 0700-1900.

The intervention must start with an action verb.  (I usually sing something from School House Rock at this point for shits & giggles)  Use appropriate hand washing technique at all times.

Rationale.  Isn’t it obvious that cleanliness is of importance?  Must I state that it’s the #1 way to fight infection?  Sigh.  Okay.  Appropriate hand washing technique leads to significantly less of a chance of infection.

Evaluation.  I get the idea that “Pt didn’t get an infection from me because I didn’t brush her teeth immediately after picking my butt” wouldn’t be acceptable.  What do you think?  Proper hand washing techniques were used during all times of pt care and pt exhibited zero signs/symptoms of infection during 0700-1900 shift.

Wash.  Rinse.  Repeat.  Singing the ABC song, slowly, all the way through twice.

The good news is that I no longer have to consult with the Davis Drug Guide when doing my med sheets.  I know the side effects of Arixtra and ducosate sodium and morphine sulfate.  I know to assess the apical pulse for a full minute before administering digoxin.  I know the antidote for warfarin is Vitamin K and to use propanol for an OD of Synthroid (after gastric lavage anyway).  I know furosemide is the generic of Lasix.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s still a metric shit ton of stuff I don’t know, but I’m getting there.

Only question is- do I have to get there all at once and why is so much damned paperwork involved?

😀

Y’all have a good Sunday.  The sun is supposed to shine here again tomorrow & it’s supposed to be nearly 70*.  Me & the kids are going to find something to do out of the house.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 01:28:50

    I know furosemide is the generic of Lasix. Well, I used to know it, and thanks to you I know it again.

  2. snigsspot
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 19:57:23

    That means that was somewhat a PSA then? Woohoo! 😀

