Death grip on the passenger seat

Nah, it wasn’t that bad.

The kid wasn’t actually thrilled today when I demanded he get behind the wheel though.

It’s very windy and that makes that van hard to keep between the lines sometimes.

And he’s used to driving Daddy’s little Red Rocket (the Mazda) and the van is much bigger.

But he made it from the grocery store parking lot to here without much trouble.

Only problem was wanting to stick to the white line, which I don’t care for.

We progressed from, “Watch the white line.” to “David.  Stay off the line.” to “David, get off the damned white line and onto the actual road” to “Damnit David, get off the white line” to “Damnit all David! Get off the fucking white line, do you understand?”.

He was beaming ear to ear when we pulled into the driveway though and was more than pleased to tell his grandparents he’d made his maiden voyage without major incident.

Tomorrow we’ve got to run to the tiny “town” 7 miles away.  I think we’ll take the Red Rocket for that trip & see how things go.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Skul
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 02:28:30

    Was it the white line to the far left…or to the right?
    I don’t wish to be pickin’ nits, but, there is a diference.

  2. Old NFO
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 09:55:28

    LOL- Skul beat me to it… My oldest the WRONG white line to the left… sigh…

  3. Old NFO
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 09:57:06

    Actually, he’d fit in fine in Italy… EVERYBODY hugs (or crosses) the white line on a regular basis… I got passed by a Ferrari yesterday at probably double my speed and he didn’t even cross all the way into the left lane!

  4. snigsspot
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 10:05:04

    He’s staying on the “right” white line. I think he touched one turtle (reflector on the center line) the entire trip. Can’t complain about him being on the wrong side of the road any.

    Driving on the white line is just a HUGE pet peeve of mine. 😉

  5. retiredpo1
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 13:01:30

    Try all that in a 1953 Chevrolet 3100 3/4 ton pick up with a 292 six and a granny low four speed. No radio or AC but it did have heat. And power steering, all the power one could muster. And the damn thing was canary yellow!
    It was more like riding herd.

  6. snigsspot
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 13:04:05

    I don’t know if you’ve read my tales of being instructed on how to drive…hmmm. I think I’ll just make a new post about it.

