Stopping and thinking

I moved away from my hometown 26 years ago, when I was almost 14.

As I’ve said before, I’ve reconnected with some of the kids I was friends with back there, back then, on facebook and it’s been really nice.

It’s weird though- when I moved away, my friends were 14-ish, their parents were 40-ish.

Now, my friends and I are 40-ish.

And when I open their facebook photo albums, for one moment I’m stunned and think, “Wow, there’s Bob’s dad!” or “Gee, Becky’s mom looks as good as she did when we moved!”.

Then it hits me- that ain’t Bob’s dad & it ain’t Becky’s mom- IT’S BOB & BECKY!

Damn…..they got OLD looking.

Then I go look in the mirror and only for a split second do I see that 20-something I used to be.

The lines, the wrinkles, the scars, the grey hair- they have taken the place of the youthfulness that once was me.

Would I change the things that happened throughout life that led to those lines, wrinkles, scars & gray hairs?  Some of it, you better believe it.

I wouldn’t have lived 5 years at a time for 5 years.  I wouldn’t have smoked and eaten quite so much.  I wouldn’t have made *some* of the bad choices I did.

That said, I’m pretty proud to be where I am.

Growing older damned sure beats the alternative.  And by God, I don’t look half as old as Becky & Bob!  😀

Can you tell I’m just a little over a week away from the 40th birthday?  I’m getting old and reminiscent I guess. 😉

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. retiredpo1
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 02:08:11

    Forty? That was some time ago for me. Like 15 plus years ago! It’s OK, it doesn’t hurt, REALLY! We just think so. I still act like a kid sometimes at 55. And after this past September, I look at things a bit differently, ya know. And from what I see, still looking good kiddo!

  2. Les James
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 13:22:57

    I know all about getting older. I’ve got the mind of a child and the body of an eighty year old man.

    And they’re both in a trunk in my basement…

    Sorry, that’s not true. I don’t have a basement.

  3. snigsspot
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 13:45:36

    Time to move, if you’ve run out of places to hide the bodies I mean. 🙂

  4. Skul
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 14:11:49

    If you’re trying to catch up with NFO, you’ll have to run faster.

    I’m gonna get fer that, but, it’s worht it.

  5. snigsspot
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 15:17:55

    NFO is still young and so are you, Skul. You ain’t old ’til you’re 100 OR someone else is *having* to wipe your butt for you. 😉

    NFO- try not to hurt him, he’s really a sweetheart.

  6. Old NFO
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 16:49:04

    Arrgghhh- Well I ‘used’ to be able to get up in the morning… I could have used that 20 year old body to do the shoveling… 🙂 The mind is still 12 going on 20, but today I feel about 134! Snigs those aren’t AGE lines, they are EXPERIENCE lines… 🙂

  7. snigsspot
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 17:00:48

    I SO totally misread the first sentence there, NFO. Totally misread, mind went straight into the gutter, can’t (and don’t want) to get out of it now.

    Thanks for the chuckle. 🙂

  8. Rho
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 19:08:39

    Good lord, Snigs, 40 is practically a baby. Just wait until you get to my current age. 😉

    I was at a wedding shower shower today. I found out that I’ve been married longer than the mother of 4 sitting next to me has been alive. o.O

  9. snigsspot
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 19:17:20

    Rho, you’re not *that* much older than me. If I remember correctly, you’re the same age as the husband.

    Now HE is lots older than me…but not you. 😉

  10. Rick
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 20:52:00

    In August I will be celebreating the 38th anniversary of my 18th birthday. Your still a young.

  11. D.
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 21:05:24

    I handled 40 pretty well…41 is playing with my head, though. The only thing I’d change is that I walked away from God between the ages of 13 and 23/24.

