I R Stuck-ed

I’m trying to write up a care plan for this week and I’m stuck.  Nothing NANDA approved specifically for discoid fusion nor corpectomy.

I had a nursing dx of pain last week, so I don’t want to repeat that one.

A risk of infection seems bland.

There’s definitely a risk of non-compliance (wearing the collar), but I can’t think of 3 interventions.  I mean really, I don’t think “beat client over the head until it sinks in” is hardly appropriate.

Any nursey type folks out there got any suggestions?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. REVENIA
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 16:13:25

    you can do plenty with that cervical spine injury especially since there is a c-collar involved. BtW, the c-collar doesnt protect the person it is merely a reminder that their neck is injured, that being said; The Neck Is Injured

  2. Old NFO
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 20:43:09

    Don’t look at me… operator, not nurse… I’m ‘sure’ you’ll come up with something 🙂

  3. retiredpo1
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 02:10:09

    There was this Navy Nurse in 85 when I had a hernia fixed…………Shut up Petty Officer Cassel and take your meds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And she was a LCDR and Drop Dead Gorgeous!

  4. Rho
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 19:05:04

    Ummmmm, Impaired mobility? Impairment due to medication? Self care deficit?

    Orthopedics not even close to my specialty.

  5. snigsspot
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 19:20:32

    He’s very mobile. He’s not taking any meds due to this and surely he’s capable of self care.

    Like I said, I had this done 10 years ago and there weren’t any issues except I couldn’t life over 10 pounds for a couple of weeks.

    I finally went with risk of infection. Interventions- correct hand hygiene, education on wound care and education as to S/S of onset of infection. If she doesn’t like it, POOP ON IT!

    Hell, even I deserve a freebie every now and then. 😉

