Can’t say this enough

Too many people I know are willing to let their teeth go.

BRUSH.  FLOSS.  SEE YOUR DENTIST!

Stories like this are sad and the outcomes from not doing the above are very avoidable!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 07:32:58

    I can understand why some women can’t go to a dentist because of the cost, but everyone can brush and floss.

    We went on Medicare this year, and I asked my dentist why Medicare doesn’t cover dental care. He said the government doesn’t think dental disease, or prevention, is necessary.

    I’ve been thankful that we’ve been able to pay for dental, because we don’t have insurance for it. It isn’t cheap, but we understand the need for it.

  2. snigsspot
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 10:06:34

    Medicare will pay for some dental work, Linda. The problem is finding the right “part” and moreover, finding a dentist who will accept it. Call them and find out what “part” you need and get them to send you a list of participating providers.

    The reason so few providers will participate in it though, is because it pays so poorly. A procedure a cash patient would pay $200 for only is reimbursed by Medicare around $50-80.

    Your dentist was right though, they apparently don’t think prevention is a necessity. MediCAID will pay for extractions after you turn 21 (unless you’re pregnant) and that’s it. Won’t pay for cleanings, fillings or dentures. It doesn’t seem fair at all.

  3. Linda
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 11:01:53

    Even if I could find a dentist that would accept MC, they wouldn’t be gentle like my current one. I had insurance for awhile, but my dentist didn’t accept that either. I guess you get what you pay for.

    I’ll call MC and find out though. Thanks for the info.

  4. snigsspot
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 11:10:18

    I hear ya. If you’ve got one that doesn’t leave you feeling like a Mack truck ran through your mouth at the end of a dental procedure, you best stick with him. 😉

  5. Linda
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 11:16:34

    He is a wonderful dentist, and a wonderful man. We go to Denver, which is 250 miles away, but he is always willing to do emergency treatments, work in a filling if he finds a cavity during cleaning, and he gives ‘gas’ so you go to the ‘lu-lu’ land. We’ve been going to him for at least 15+ years.

    I do have to say, I have felt like a Mack truck after some of my visits, but I think that is because of my rotten teeth! I got dad’s…not mom’s. Sigh! I guess I got my ‘beauty’ from my mom! LOL!

  6. Old NFO
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 20:19:50

    Sad but true… and infections in the mouth CAN AND DO precipitate into the brain…

  7. retiredpo1
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 21:21:05

    Got the same thing in them 20 years in the Sea Service!

