A Giggle for Friday

The economy is so bad that:

I got a pre-declined credit card in the mail.

I ordered a burger at McDonald’s and the kid behind the
counter asked, “Can you afford fries with that?”

CEO’s are now playing miniature golf.

If the bank returns your check marked  “Insufficient
Funds,” you call them and ask if they meant you or them.

Hot Wheels and Matchbox stocks are trading higher than GM.

McDonald’s is selling the 1/4 ouncer.

Parents in Beverly Hills fired their nannies and learned
their children’s names.

A truckload of Americans was caught sneaking into Mexico .

Dick Cheney took his stockbroker hunting.

Motel Six won’t leave the light on anymore.

The Mafia is laying off judges.

Exxon-Mobil laid off 25 Congressmen.

Congress says they are looking into this Bernard Madoff
scandal. Oh Great!!  The guy who made $50 Billion
disappear is being investigated by the people who made
$1.5 Trillion disappear!

I was so depressed last night thinking about the economy,
wars, jobs, my savings, Social Security, retirement funds,
etc., I called the Suicide Lifeline. I got a call center
in Pakistan , and when I told them I was suicidal, they got
all excited, and asked if I could drive a truck.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brightcalliope
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 09:59:57

    Lol. Thanks for the laughs. Blogging for smiles is the best. 😉

  2. Crucis
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 14:13:16

    BTW, my daughter dropped by this morning to tell us that she’s decided to get an RN. She has 42 hours of college credit from fifteen years ago, so she’ll be starting basically from scratch.

    She has an appointment with the local Jr. College to sign up for their CNA classes. That’s a prereq for going any further around here and it’ll let het get a better paying sob whilst going to school. Her hubby and Mrs. Crucis will be doing much more babysitting when she starts.

    I’ve forwarded her your blog address and told her to scroll back through your archives for your nursing posts.

    Keep it up. There’s folks out here that are interested in how you do.

  3. snigsspot
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 19:57:37

    WOOOHOOOOO for Mrs. Crucis, Jr!!

    If I can help her in any way, tell her to let me know. I’ve got several books that I don’t really need, so if they’re any she will need, I’d be happy to send them to her.

    The CNA stuff isn’t a ton of fun, but the other stuff she’ll learn along with it is quite helpful.

    I wonder if she’ll find the back-to-school as an adult ordeal as odd as I have…

    BrightCalliope- One of my ex-coworkers has a daughter named Kaliope, the other ex-coworker always pronounced it cal-eee-ope. Hopefully that will give you another smile. 🙂

  4. Old NFO
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 23:21:07

    Good ones… and a LOT closer to the truth than people want to believe… 🙂

  5. j.biros
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 00:12:17

    🙂

