Happy or not happy? The jury is still out.

Tomorrow starts clinicals.

I’m glad to be getting out of the book and into the real world.

My uniforms are meticulously starched and pressed, I’ve cleaned my watch.  (It still stinks though- the clear band smells like some sort of funky petroleum product).  I’ve put away the earrings, bracelets and necklaces.  My notebook is packed with all the needed material and all my stuff is ready & waiting.

I’m not looking forward to getting up at 4:30 (Gawd it’s dark and quiet then!) and I furthermore don’t look forward to the 30 minute drive to my buddy’s house (still no heat in the van!) and I don’t look forward to the 40 minute ride from her house into the hospital.  Not that I don’t love her, but she smokes and I’m doing REALLY good right now and don’t want to blow it.

Anyway, tomorrow is orientation, so it won’t be too bad (although I’m afraid I’ll be bored in the THREE hour computer class!).  Next week starts the real thing.  I’ll be on the orthopedic surgery floor Wednesday & Thursday of next week, then Team Leader for the next rotation.  Stints include the burn unit overflow, radiology (I’d like to glow in the dark after finishing that one up, tyvm), hemodialysis, pushing meds, cardiac cath lab, and endoscopy.

I’m chomping at the bit to do cardiac cath, hemodialysis & radiology.  Pushing meds & endoscopy should prove interesting too.

However, I’m really, really, really NOT looking forward to working in the burn unit.  Lots of abused and/or neglected kids from what I’m told.  One of my daughter’s classmates is in that unit thanks to burns received in a car crash.  Kids in pain hurt me.

Anyway, if the mountains of paperwork don’t suffocate me and I can drag my lazy ass around, y’all should see something out of me by Saturday.  Then again, you might not.  Molly & I are planning a Girls Only Day and it may happen Saturday.  Some Alvin & the Chipmunks, shoe shopping and eating bad-for-us fast food is on the agenda.

Y’all take care, stay warm and enjoy your Friday!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 16:54:47

    Wishing you lots of good learning experiences in clinicals. I don’t like burn cases either.

  2. rhodaloo
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 18:23:47

    Glad you are excited about your clinicals. The nice thing about the variety is that you find out quickly what is NOT the area you wish to focus on once you are out of school.

    Today reminded me why I prefer middle school/high school students over elementary students. “What’s your last name?” “I don’t know.” “How long have you felt bad?” “I don’t know.” “What’s wrong?” “I feel bad?”

  3. Old NFO
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 18:30:20

    Ah… NOW the fun starts… Rhodaloo is correct, you WILL find your areas of like and dislike VERY quickly… Don’t let the bastards get you down Snigs- the hours suck, the boredom will be suffocating, and the whining will rub on the nerves like fingernails screeching across the blackboard, but it IS education…

  4. D.
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 20:58:08

    I have no doubt that you will do well. 🙂 Good luck!

  5. retiredpo1
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 04:16:46

    Kind of makes the 30 minute drive to the base/hangar and launching test and evaluation Falcons a walk in the park. The drive starts about 0540 and the official day begins at 0630. And this time of year the desert is cold before the sun comes up!
    Pulling for ya, kiddo! And hang in there, it can only get better!

