Whine Time

I try to not whine a lot, but tonight I feel like it & since James isn’t here to hear it, you get to.

I just got word this afternoon that I’ll be doing my 12 hour rotation clinicals at Hospital A.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  Hospital A is the better of the two hospitals our class is doing clinicals at.  Bigger, more technology, some really, really good folks, etc…

However, Hospital A is 40 miles further down the road than Hospital B.

And the girl in my class who lives 3 miles from me has been assigned Hospital B.  We were planning on riding together, considering that I only have one vehicle and will have to leave about an hour before James gets home to get to Hospital B and don’t get back home until 2 1/2 hours after he has to leave for work again.  Now, with Hospital A, I’m going to have to leave 2 hours before he gets home and won’t be back until 3 hours after he’s left.

Nobody else lives near me.

Nobody he works with on this shift lives anywhere near us.

I’m having a hard time figuring out how I’m going to work the magical transportation system.

Getting a second car would be great IF I could afford it.  Scrambling by on $21,000 for a family of 4 is hard enough without the thought of a car payment too.

I discussed this in-depth with my teacher before they made the assignments.  Apparently, she didn’t grasp the severity of the situation.

Now, it looks like I’ll be dropping out for a couple of quarters at least- long enough to make enough money to buy a beater, by which time the van will probably roll over and die and I’ll be back in the same fucking spot again.

I suppose “fairs” really are for tourists.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 20:20:23

    Damn, no possible recourse to be reassigned? That truly sucks Snigs… 😦

  2. Mariah
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 20:34:03

    Sucky!!

    I’m so sorry!

    I’m sure you’ll figure it out… after all, you’re Snigs.. and that’s akin to Superwoman, right?

  3. D.
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 22:44:32

    I just prayed for you and your most unfair of situations. 🙂 Delays suck, but sometimes really good things come from, too. However, I hope (TRULY HOPE) that something can be done, so that you can complete your studies….so you can get a good job. Try to remain positive and focused, though. I know how those types of setbacks can really diminish the hope that has been built up…really, I do know…all too well.

  4. Skul
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 13:27:20

    Sounds like a royal pain.
    Hope there’s some recourse.

    I know this is OT…
    My flying squirrel had babies this mornng!
    Four of ’em.

  5. retiredpo1
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 01:02:19

    Not having a good start to the year courtesy the of a short circuited instructor, eh?

