Merry Christmas!

I was going to write a neat poem referencing everybody on my blogroll, but I changed my mind.

I’m getting off the computer and spending time with my kids.

This is the first year that “Santa” hasn’t visited in some fashion or another.  Molly was 11 last year and still believed a tiny, tiny bit.

But those days are past history now.

I watched a good movie with Molly last night- The Christmas Claus.

Any mother (or father for that matter) who races left and right to be a Super Parent should watch that.  Taught me a few lessons as well…

I will no longer volunteer to do everything.  I don’t care if the kids at school don’t have a platter of homemade cookies to munch on- they’ll live.  I don’t care if we don’t have snacks for our class.  I don’t care to work 98 hours a week so we can have things.

I’ve got a damned sight better than most folks.  My husband annoys the crap out of me a lot of the time, but he loves me.  I’ve got two kids who aren’t perfect, but they’re not trouble makers and they have & use good manners.  I’ve still got both my parents, which won’t last forever- considering Daddy will be 75 & Mama will be 68 soon.

I have my great country and although there seem some are hell-bent on making it a different place, my corner of the world remains a good place to be a gun-toting, uptight, conservative, Christian.

And I have my God.  Kind, merciful, loving and trusting is He and I find comfort in knowing Him.

Like Clarence the Angel said to George Bailey-  You see George, you’ve really had a wonderful life.

Yep, Cindy sees she really has a wonderful life.

Merry Christmas to you all and to all, a good night!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Assrot
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 05:52:45

    I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    Joe

  2. Linda
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 08:34:30

    What a wonderful post! My kids are all raised and have their own families, so we are alone this morning. Sometimes I really miss having little ones around on Christmas morning, but they need time with their own mom and dad too. We celebrate over Thanksgiving…not the same, but good, nevertheless!

    Merry Christmas, Snig. To you and your family! God bless you!

  3. Easily Lost
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 10:28:37

    Merry Christmas 😀

  4. Crucis
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 12:21:09

    Merry Christmas, Snigs, and to all your family. We’re snowed in at the moment. The blizzard last night blocked the garage and I’m in no hurry to dig out.

    Have a Happy New Year as well.

    Crucis

  5. nystrele
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 12:25:16

    gorgeous photo… that is NOT your living room, is it? love your christmas mantra. go, girl!! have a fabulous christmas.

  6. retiredpo1
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 13:05:52

    And to you and yours, my dear!

  7. Old NFO
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 13:39:02

    Merry CHRISTmas to you and yours SNIG!

  8. Jim
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 16:09:13

    Merry Christmas Snigs. Hope it’s relaxing and enjoyable.

  9. D.
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 17:40:26

    Well said and Merry Christmas. I, too, am re-thinking some things in my life, and with God’s help and provision, some things will change. 🙂

  10. snigsspot
    Dec 28, 2009 @ 11:45:46

    Thanks ladies & gents. We had a very nice, calm Christmas. Calm isn’t usually a word used to describe it I guess, but it’s the way I like it.

    My mom & dad have been sick, so I convinced her NOT to cook a big meal. She picked up hogie buns, sandwich meat & chips, I put together a platter of vegetables & dip, a cheese platter and a ton of desserts.

    Nobody went hungry for sure and it wasn’t killer to prepare. 🙂

    And Chuck- oh hell no, that ain’t my living room. That would be farrrrr too much maintenance for this lazy girl.

