Hmm?

Y’all know I’m Christian.  I tell ya though, there are few preachers/pastors out there who garner my respect unfortunately and even less televangelists who do.

I never liked Oral Roberts.  Especially when he was swindling little old ladies out of their money saying God was going to call him home from the “tower” if his viewers didn’t send in X amount of dollars.

I can’t help but wonder did the dough stop rolling in or what?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crucis
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 18:15:10

    I just heard the news too. I remember my Mother and Grandmother watching him on our TV. I thought he was a fraud then and still do. That’s not to bad-mouth Christians. My wife and I are Elders in our church and Mrs. Crucis teaches in a KC seminary.

    But there are frauds out there. You can tell immediately what their prime interest is. Our pastor, instead of passing the plate, has a basket near the altar. If members want to contribute, they can do so at any time during services.

    Ya know, we’ve never failed to meet our mortgage payments nor any bills. We even pay extra on our mortgage principal. Those who understand will tithe without being browbeat about. Those who don’t…well that’s OK as well. It is NOT a requirement, contrary to some church’s doctrine.

  2. Skul
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 18:47:21

    Good grief, I remember seeing him on TV in the fifties.

  3. snigsspot
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 21:26:40

    Cut the bullshit Skul. I know you’re not old enough to remember the 50’s. 😛

  4. rhodaloo
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 23:49:21

    He was on TV in the 70’s as I remember watching some of his “specials”. I remember the hospitals in Tulsa inviting my entire nursing class to come and tour all the hospitals in the area. The City of Hope was downright creepy. The hospital had folded by 1990. I remember driving by the empty building when we lived in the Tulsa area.
    Good thing people like Roberts don’t put me off Christianity. I have a uncle who used to be a minister and seemed to have cloned himself after Mr. Roberts.

  5. Skul
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 11:50:50

    Oh, that’s right….Im only 39….but, I’ve had a couple decades+a few years to improve on it.
    Practise makes perfect.

  6. snigsspot
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 13:19:22

    Hehehehe. Skul, you’re just absolutely lovable!

  7. retiredpo1
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 21:12:28

    What was it that I read somewhere else when fat, drunken teddy kicked the bucket? Oh yeah. Don’t speak ill of the dead. In the case of Oral and ted, we can toss that out the window. Two of the worst con artists in the history of the Republic.
    And skul, I remember when I was 39. I retired from active duty at 39 plus 19 days. It’s OK, me and OldNFO like telling sea stories, too!

  8. retiredpo1
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 21:17:14

    For Skul:
    A fairy tale starts out, once upon a time.
    A Sea Story starts out, this ain’t no shit!
    I would never tell a falsehood in Snig’s presence. I may embellish once in a while, though as is sea-faring tradition. Right Old NFO?

  9. nystrele
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 12:28:52

    i’m from lynchburg, va., the hometown of jerry falwell and his “moral majority.” believe me, there was nothing moral about this fat cat who took advantage of his “religious” stature to buy up real estate holdings and cash in, nor a “majority,” whose radical views were anything but “inclusive” of christian values…

