Heh

I’ll start off by saying I love doing plays.  Seriously, I enjoy being on stage, the challenge of learning the lines, entertaining folks- love all that.

However, for the most part, I do NOT like the other theater folks.  Maybe it’s because the acting stuff is a hobby for me, where it’s something more to some of them, I don’t know.  ??

Most of those folks are flightly, irresponsible, over dramatic (leave it on stage, ya know?) and generally look at the world completely different from me.

I like the guy I’m doing Tuna Christmas with just fine, except I wish he’d lay off the hooch.  I just cannot find it in me to appreciate drunken foolishness anymore and it rarely enhances anyone’s personality.

I’ve learned a lot- terminology, direction and such and I’ve developed some damned good vamping and improv skills (Drew Carey would be proud!).  I’ve also learned something else…

Back when it came time for Female Odd Couple to open, I was concerned.  I had a couple of really quick (at least at that time I thought they were really quick) costume changes.  I was worried, as I didn’t have time to get to a dressing room, shut the door and change clothes.  I was having to change in the wings (the areas between the side curtains).  Everybody backstage was going to see me changing.  (Insert wide eyes and open mouth here!)

I was assured by “veterans” of the stage that nobody would be paying the slightest attention.

They were telling the truth.  The focus of every person backstage is to complete their assigned task.  Other actors & actresses are way too busy thinking about upcoming parts, stage crews are thinking ahead to the next set change and dressers are just there to strip you and redress you in a flash.  No time to ogle or critique.

In Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, I never changed clothes, so there was no problem there at all.  The guy playing Brick & the girl playing Maggie both had a few changes- I helped them both and honestly, I can’t tell you anything about either of their bodies beyond the fact that she had a mole on her back.  The only reason I knew that- I tried to brush it off of her when I was zipping her dress, thinking it was trash.

Anyway, apparently this knowledge had never been imparted to the husband.

He was worried.

In Tuna, I literally walk off stage from one door and back on through a door 3 feet away.  I have to change between doors.  As does the actor I’m working with.

Last night during dress rehearsal, the husband kept trying to block me from view of the guy.  Finally, I told him to give it up and to trust me, neither of us was looking at the other.  It wasn’t until today that I realized I had stood, talking to Brad, wearing nothing but underwear, bra & hose and he was only wearing his undershorts.

I would have noticed if HE’D of noticed-  and neither of us had.

I guess it could be called narcissism, I don’t know.  You’re just that self-absorbed in your own thing that you don’t notice what’s going on around you, you don’t pay any attention to anyone else.

However, just to be on the safe side, I suggest Wyatt not get into acting or be backstage any time soon. 😉

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D.
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 22:27:48

    Kind of like being in a locker room. You don’t want to look or stare. You just go about your business. (I wouldn’t have the stones to do it, though.)

  2. snigsspot
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 22:57:43

    We don’t have time to look, let alone stare. 😀

  3. snigsspot
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 23:34:01

    If we did have time to look/stare…

    Hmmm

    Well, it is a comedy! 😀

  4. j.biros
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 00:10:09

    Not much different than being at the beach.
    To be honest , I would most likely would ” look” and might even ogle, which is why I don’t act in plays .
    Good thing your not playing Lady Godiva ! 😉

  5. snigsspot
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 00:17:01

    No worries there. For one thing, I don’t want to kill anybody and would hate to prove that someone can keel over dead from dying laughing. 😉

