Shakin’ My Head

“Worked” at the blood bank today for clinical.  Didn’t get to sink a needle in anyone- sorta thankful for that considering they were using 6 gauge needles, but anyway…

I was asked to run some blood from the front to the back.  No problem.

THREE of my classmates either puked or nearly passed out though.

I don’t get it.  Wasn’t like we were having to carry handfuls of blood, it was in pouches.  I just don’t get the “ick” factor.  ??

One thing that did sorta shock me was how warm the blood was…then I remembered how hot it was spilling through my eyes and across my face after the wreck and it made sense.

One classmate who donated should have gotten a frackin’ Emmy.  I swear I never have heard anybody carry on so much, then be “cured” after literally ONE SIP of ginger ale.  Save the theatrics for the theater.  Sigh.

Anyway, it was a pretty interesting experience.  However, that’s not where I would want to work either.  Stuck in one place, doing one thing over & over & over isn’t my style.  And the most positive point about it- NO BUTT WIPING!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 16:09:12

    LOL- It takes ALL kinds…

