How do you feel about quickies?

Like it or not, that’s what you’re getting.

Husband went hunting the second time today- got the 2nd deer.  Unfortunately, it was a gut shot deal.  Trust me when I say I smelled worse things at clinicals a few weeks ago.  David however, nearly hurled when the carcass was cut loose from the hind quarters…lots of air in there.

I got fussed at for pulling guts out of the hole to show the kids when James was busy doing other things.

😀

Molly pronounced me “cooler” than other moms.

I made a B on todays test.  I will no longer be stressing for A’s.  Just not worth it.  I will enjoy my life, my family and learn, but whether I can pass school tests with straight A’s, I don’t care about.

What good is a bunch of A’s if you don’t have enough good sense to use what you’ve learned or if your family hates you for being stressed out and yelling at them?

Not a damned bit of good.

Life is too short.  There are too many things to do….too many deer guts to pull out of entry or exit wounds….too many children to do things with that get you deemed “cooler” than others.

Those things deserve just as much of my attention as those grades do.

Y’all have a fantastic week!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariah
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 08:09:26

    Good for you!

    All the way through HS and the first bit of college, I used to stress about A’s. Finally, I figured out that I actually learned more if I wasn’t so concerned about the bottom line. I still ended up finishing with an A- average, and was a lot more happy about it.

    Also, wanted to keep encouraging you in staying off smoking!

  2. Linda
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 08:35:26

    Well, you’ve heard the story about the class of DR’s. What do they call the one with the lowest passing grade? DOCTOR! Of course, I want my DR or nurse to really know what is going on!

    The deer thing is more than enough to keep me from ever wanting to hunt! We used to raise Ostrich, and we butchered one, and it wasn’t nice for me. I also helped with chickens once, and decided I’ll just buy mine already cooked! (And I live in farm country!)

  3. easily lost
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 19:05:52

    Dang, I read the title and had a retort all ready too 😛
    It sounds like you are getting well into the groove of nursing school. Hope you enjoy it as much as my daughter does.

  4. rhodaloo
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 19:22:57

    Just do the best you can and you’ll be fine.

    You could have have had some of my people today. The current “bug” is severe stomach cramps but no fever or vomiting. You can’t do do much with these kids except to call the parents and let them decide what to do. Yesterday was kids thinking they were going to toss their cookies, but doing a poor job of succeeding. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.

  5. Old NFO
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 04:37:09

    Keep up the good work, and yeah, gut shots DO stink a bit…

  6. Rick
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 20:59:15

    Keep up the good work.

