Pray for my sanity

I’ve got another test tomorrow. This time in Drug Calculation and unfortunately, it’s started off as a math review.

Let’s review this-

I passed math with a 116 average.

I don’t care how many fracking rainbows and smiley faces you draw, I’m not going to do it with a smile. I’m serious- she wants us to draw “rainbows & smiley faces” in the ratio solving process. Not to mention, go by way of our elbows to get to our assholes. (An observation she didn’t appreciate when I pointed it out.)

Not.gonna.happen.

And she wants all work “shown”. Damnit lady, I don’t DO any work figuring out 100/25 is 4.

And for the love of all Holy & unholy, if I see one more problem like this-

Which is larger? 2.75 2.47 2.93

I will blow a freakin’ gasket and it will be heard all the way out yonder in the Ozark Mountains.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 20:23:35

    Hummmm…I wonder what the answer is? Oh, I know! 🙂

    You will do fine! Just remember, the world is full of people who make the rules, and they will want you to abide by them!

  2. Rhodaloo
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 20:52:22

    Very confused. What does drawing rainbows and smiley faces have to do with drug calculations? You do that at work and I can assure you they will find someone to do an impairment assessment on you.

  3. Old NFO
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 02:07:14

    Sounds like a lousy teacher… too bad it happens to be a rather ‘critical’ portion of your education. And yeah, show work to decide which number is bigger? Give me a @#&*( break!!!

  4. snigsspot
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 13:44:12

    Actually, I think she’ll be a pretty good teacher once we get into the real stuff. She’s just wishy-washy on stuff sometimes. Ask her what book we need for class that day & she’ll change her mind 4 times, stuff like that. And I don’t mean the circumstances change. It’s like-
    “You’ll need your Fundamentals book….and your diagnosis book….well, instead of the diagnosis book, your adult care book….no wait, you might need diagnosis…hmmm. Your fundamentals and diagnosis books….oh and your adult care.”

  5. Crucis
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 14:45:29

    Congratulations to education of the lowest common denominator!

    Seriously, though, it’s a great disappointment to discover such a teacher for a professional level class. If I’m paying tuition out of my own pocket to this institution, I expect a bit of respect for me and for my goals—not a late-life kindergarten.

  6. Rhodaloo
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 16:33:39

    Those who can do it. Those who can’t teach. Good luck!

  7. Rhodaloo
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 16:36:04

    …and some of us can’t remember how to use commas. Good thing I don’t teach composition.

  8. Old NFO
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 21:28:30

    Snigs- that’s BS, if she is that poorly prepared, she needs to be somewhere else, NOT teaching critical care classes…

  9. rhodaloo
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 23:21:03

    Do we want the instructor working in a non-academic setting? Think about that.

