Name that bug

4th day of headache.

3rd day of general muscle ache.

Sore throat with occasions of coughing fits.

Dire rear.

A nose that bounces back and forth from stopped up to free running.

No fever.

I feel sorta like a chittlin’- a gut with the shit slung out of it.

Whatever it is, I wish it would go away, but hope I don’t manage to give it to someone else.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 22:35:57

    Not sure what it is but I have it also.

  2. j.biros
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 02:05:01

    Well if you are throwing up I’d name it Chuck
    If it causing a pain in the ass , my wife would call it Jay Ha!
    The head ache ,definitely Barrack

    Hope you feel better soon!

    P.S. My Sister-in-law and I for years and years would get sick with the same thing at the same time , she would call and tell me I’d be sick the next day, sure enough I would get sick . It was a long running joke in the family.

  3. Old NFO
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 02:55:19

    Hope you get better soon…

  4. Linda
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 07:49:32

    Whatever it is, please don’t share!

    Get well soon!

  5. Crucis
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 11:41:23

    Sounds more like allergies. I feel that way twice a year—Spring and Fall. The difference for me that it’s an allergy is the lack of a fever.

    However, as in all things medical, YMMV.

  6. snigsspot
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 13:37:04

    I’ve been plagued with allergies in the past and while they made me feel worthless, they never made me feel like this.

    If I’m not feeling vast improvement by Monday, I am going to the doc. A nurse at the local hospital was trying to suggest swine flu. I’m skeptical about that. I think some are branding anything they cannot pinpoint from a distance as “swine flu”. I’d say it was regular flu, but I’m missing the fever. I feel about that blooming rough though.

    For the moment, I’m deeming it the creeping cruds. We’ll see.

    And Linda, worry not. This isn’t anything I’d share with my worst enemy.

    Thanks guys!

  7. RT
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 20:27:00

    They have to test you at the hospital for swine flu (that was the “rule” as of this past spring). They can’t just say you have it. 🙂 Many of the students are sick with viruses and colds. Meh.

  8. snigsspot
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 20:36:22

    This was just a friend, not a medical diagnosis. Her words- “It could be swine flu, you know.”. I don’t tolerate Tamiflu well and I think that’s what they’re giving folks with it, not to mention it’s been over 24 hours since my symptoms started, so I think I’ll tough out whatever it is.

    There have been documented cases of swine flu here, how many I don’t know. The only useful purpose I can see in getting tested is where I can avoid the vaccine later in the fall.

  9. Rhodaloo
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 11:17:16

    In our area, they are only testing for the flu, not specifically swine flu unless there are complications. I have no doubt you have picked up some sort of virus, but typically there is fever with the flu.

    I hate the initial jump start to the immune system when a person starts getting close and personal with patients. I swear that’s why I continue to work so my immune system doesn’t lose it’s edge.

