The Last Great Rumble

The first I ever knew of Patrick Swazye was when he played the role of Darryl Curtis in The Outsiders.

While all the other girls were fawning over Soda Pop, Two Bit, & Dally, I was day dreaming about spending my life with a guy like Darry.   Responsible, upstanding and basically decent.

The character seemed to fit Patrick Swayze.  As others have said, I never heard of him being accused of wrong doing.  He seemed to be committed to his wife.  He made several good movies (Road House is one of my favorites) and damn, that man could dance like nobody’s business.

He’s fought a long battle with pancreatic cancer.  Never heard him whine, never heard him bitch & moan.

He faced his fight with dignity it would seem and  I imagine he’s facing the Good Lord now with that same dignity.

May he now find rest and peace without pain.

pswayze

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 07:45:09

    No, Snigs, I have to disagree with one of your statements. If he is facing the Good Lord, it isn’t ‘with that same dignity’. If he is, it is will humility, and on his face because of what our Good Lord did for us.

    Patrick Swayze was one of the few men in Hollywood that didn’t attract scandal.

    Everything else you said, I agree with you.

  2. snigsspot
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 07:48:25

    I think you can be you can have dignity, even in the face of the Lord while being the utmost of humble. 😉

  3. Morgan
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 09:25:11

    Came as a complete surprise to me. Wasn’t all that long ago I had seen him in The Beast. Sorry to see him go; he was good.

  4. Old NFO
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 20:25:40

    He’s gone to a better place now, and is no longer in pain… RIP Patrick!

