Dayum

First, my mom is like the ultimate housekeeper.  I do not pretend to aspire to her levels of cleanliness.  I have other things I want to do with my life beyond scrubbing everything three times a day.  I like to go play tennis with my kids, I like to veg out with a book, I like to just veg out- way too much to spend time on my hands and knees.  If you want to see some dust, some dirt, maybe a smear here and there, come on over to my place.

Second, my mom & dad have a few rental houses.  Some are single wide mobile homes, some are houses.  None of them are brand new and none are fancy.  However, before renting to anyone, my dad has always had things in good repair, carpets and walls have been replaced/shampooed/repainted in decent colors.  Any time a renter had a problem, he’d get it repaired *that* day if at all possible.  I’ve seen him work to replace plumbing at 10:00 p.m. after working all day.  I’ve seen him replace broken windows instead of going to work.  Long story short, when folks move into one of their houses, the houses are clean enough to pass a white glove inspection (seriously) and everything looks really nice.

One of their renters just moved about 60 miles from here.  The girl called day before yesterday asking about when she’d get her deposit back.  Mama told her as soon as they checked the place and assessed any damage and how clean the place was left.  She assured Mama there was *no* damage and it was *clean*.

The following pictures show this lack of damage and immaculate cleanliness.  I’d like to point out the refrigerator and kitchen sink & faucet are 9 months old and the tub & surround are about a year old.

WARNING!  NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR WEAK OF STOMACH!

IMG_1569

IMG_1573

IMG_1575

IMG_1578

IMG_1615

The reason the top of the stove is so clean is probably due to the fact that the gas company came and picked up the gas tank a long time ago.  Wonder what their microwave looked like?

IMG_1580

IMG_1583

IMG_1586

IMG_1593Where they let *their* washer leak- the floor is rotted away not just in this area, but the entire hall- you have about 6 inches you can walk on against the outer wall of the hall.

IMG_1595IMG_1596IMG_1597

Why would you keep the commode bowl clean if you were going to sit on a seat that looked like that???

IMG_1598

IMG_1600

IMG_1604

That’s the build up around the edges of the walls!

IMG_1621

The exterior side of the front door.

IMG_1631

The exterior of the back door.  What that one doesn’t show is that the entire interior of the door itself is broken down to the point the door will not shut correct.

I’ve been tasked with writing the letter to this lady about how she will not be getting her deposit back and how she’s damned lucky they don’t sue her for the extensive damage done to the place.

There just ain’t no ‘counting for plain white trash.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 18:00:43

    Your folks should take her to small claims court for the damage. I don’t understand why people can’t leave things like they get them. We used to have a rental property, but the last renters left it so bad, we never rented again.

    Encourage your folks to sue!

  2. snigsspot
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 18:39:23

    Getting money out of her would be like getting blood out of a turnip, not to mention her kids would be the ones who ended up suffering.

    Daddy avoids confrontation at all cost since he had open heart surgery. I guess he’s afraid of getting too riled up. He’s talking about pulling a few of the working and not totally destroyed things out of the place and getting the scrap metal folks to pick up the trailer.

    Honestly, I don’t blame him and I wish he would. He’s 75 nearly and keeping 4 houses in working order is a bit much in my opinion considering he still works full time as well. Sorta makes me feel like her leaving the place in such disrepair may end up being a small blessing in disguise.

  3. RT
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 21:32:13

    I just moved out of an apartment that we lived in for eight years. It looked nothing like that, and she was there for nine months.

    That is just awful.

    I feel so bad for your daddy. All his hard work…

  4. Mariah
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 22:16:56

    This is absolutely horrible.. you said she had kids? They should make you pass a test or something before you get to be parents.

    We own a duplex and rent out the other side… I think if we *ever* had renters like that, they would find themselves and their stuff out on the street for violating their lease terms..

    Wow. I still can’t believe it.

  5. Old NFO
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 00:07:49

    I agree with Linda… that is just plain BS-

  6. shellssells
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 08:09:30

    Wow. That is pretty extreme. As a renter myself, of a place I’ve lived in 3 yrs now, my desire is to leave the place nicer than it was when I moved in. Which is probably why she has not raised my extremely low rent in 3 yrs and has decided she never will.

    People who don’t think like this are shooting themselves in the foot.

  7. Rick
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 14:16:16

    This is outrageous. Then to ask for your deposit back.
    Forget it. No Money back.

  8. Assrot
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 18:18:09

    Well, I’d say that you ought to sue for damages but you’ll never see a dime when you win the case.

    I’d look her up and give her a good old Georgia ass whoopin’.

    That’s just me though.

    😦

    Joe

  9. John
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 22:18:58

    Wish it could be done the old fashioned way. But whatever stresses your pop the least.

  10. USAdmiral
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 15:15:31

    That is pretty bad.

    Maybe your parents should send a bill them pigs.

    Thanks for your comments!

