Hmmm

Before I say anything else, I’m truly saddened that a 7 year old child died.  I cannot and do not want to imagine how heartbreaking that must be for this family.

About 10 years ago, a girl I went to school with had a wreck.  Turns out she was well over the legal limit for DUI.  Worse yet, her two year old child was in the back seat.  He didn’t make it, Mama did.  Mama was tried and convicted for manslaughter and I fully support that.  Fully.  Her absolute stupidity led to the death of her child, so it wasn’t straight out murder, but it surely was manslaughter in my opinion.

Today I read of the idiot who took his 7 year old child to see the “big waves” caused by Hurricane (?) Bill.  Apparently, they went around barricades to get a peek at this “awesome” sight.  Long story short, big wave came in, washed man & child out, man was plucked out by the Coast Guard and the child drowned.

Shouldn’t of happened.  Could have been avoided.

Just like the drunk chick and her child.

Just like it.

This wasn’t a tragic accident.  This was the consequence of doing something absolutely, positively, beyond a shadow of a doubt stupid.

And although the death of a child probably would serve as enough punishment for most of us, I think this man should be tried for manslaughter as well.

He knew it was dangerous (so did drunk mom), he knew he was doing something he shouldn’t (so did drunk mom) by going around barricades, he should be held accountable (just like drunk mom).

It’s bad enough that adults do this kind of senseless, stupid stuff that ends up requiring other adults put their lives in danger to save their stupid asses, but to put your own child in that situation is far, far worse.

Once again, I really hate this for the child and the child’s family.  No family should have to deal with this.  No parent should be so fucking stupid as to do something that very likely will end with this sort of outcome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 19:37:04

    You know, I hadn’t thought of this when I heard this sad, sad news, but I think you are on to something. Parents should act responsibly with their children, and if they don’t, and God forbid, something tragic happens, the parents should be held accountable. I don’t it will happen in this case, but it should.

  2. JRShirley
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 15:26:43

    Stand him up against a wall and put three in him. And call it a day.

