Apparently Not Everyone Who Writes a Textbook

is bright.

Case in point, I present you with the following question from the book- oh and for future reference, the supposed answer is A.

12.
A 2-year-old child generally needs an average of _____ kilocalories per kilogram of body weight per day.
A. botulism spores.
B. Escherichia coli.
C. Staphylococcus aureus.
D. salmonellosis.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. j.biros
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 19:53:37

    I’m not a Doctor ,or Nurse , and I don’t play one on t.v. ( I have however played Doctor on other things -Ha ! ) but my recommendation is to throw the stupid book away!
    Just think , you are intelligent enough to catch the mistake,but how many half wits will take that as gospel.
    Don’t they employ proof readers any more?

  2. Old NFO
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 19:56:48

    Ah…er…. where is the roofpreader??? sigh…

  3. snigsspot
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 23:22:56

    I have however played Doctor on other things
    SCANDALOUS!!

    You’d think they could afford a whole room full of roofpreaders, considering they charge $140 for this particular book. Apparently proofreading is “so yesterday” though. The number of errors in the newspaper and in articles online is enough to make one think that anyway.

  4. Skul
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 10:16:24

    Idiots, all of ’em. The correct answer is “C”.
    What a pack of maroons.

    I think I’ll have my coffee now.

