Hangin’ In There

Homework, ironing, and general household duties are the excitement of the weekend.

Aced both the written and clinical procedure tests yesterday.  Of course I had to draw the procedure test of putting a damned elastic stocking on someone and of course they had a foot the size of an elephants and the stocking was probably for someone with the foot of a mouse.

I got it on, only breaking a half sweat, with no wrinkles, twists or rumples and remembered to ID the patient, introduce myself, wash hands at appropriate times, put the call signal within reach, when and where I was supposed to.

Found out I will be taking Nursing Fundamentals and Drug Calculation/Administration next quarter.  That will only leave 5 courses and their practicums for Winter, Spring and Summer quarters- Medical Surgical Nursing 1 & 2, Obstetrics, Pediatrics and Nursing Leadership.  I’m told Med Surg is a killer, both 1 & 2.

I read the other day that the light at the end of the tunnel has been extinguished due to the poor economy.

Well, maybe so, but I’m pretty sure I see it.  It’s a ways off, but it’s there.

Oh and if anybody wants to volunteer for me to practice Drug Administration on (IE- needle sticks), just holler. 😀

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 14:05:09

    Use your orange!

  2. snigsspot
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 14:43:21

    But oranges don’t wiggle, whine, wince, moan, groan and carry on like real people do. 😉

    Nursing- another way to get in touch with your sadistic side!

    KIDDING FOLKS, KIDDING!!

  3. Old NFO
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 18:53:34

    Nope, not me, staying the hell outta range… Practice on Oranges with Vodka, then have them for a “treat” after AFTER practice 🙂

    No the light at the end of the tunnel is now a long life, low light, mercury filled bulb… 😦

  4. j. biros
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 20:48:17

    Snigs ,
    If I was near by I would let you stick me all you want.
    I give myself up to 8 shots a day due to Type 2 diabetes.
    It is a pain in the a**,but at this point I do not even feel them any more.
    I even let my kids give them to me just for fun.( also in case the ever have to give me an emergency glucogen shot).
    That is enough boring you with my Med History ,how about a picture of the day of your favorite place to give a shot?

  5. Easily Lost
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 16:47:51

    Sorry, no needles for me, not even for a good cause. How about I donate Heidi as your guinea pig 😀 You can practice on each other.

  6. snigsspot
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 17:06:13

    That’s okay…I’ve got James. Muahahahaha.haha.ha.

