7 More Weeks

Wow, it’s hard to believe that in 7 more weeks, I will have completed my first year of school.  Time certainly flies.

The kids start back to school two weeks from tomorrow.  I’ve really enjoyed them being at home this summer.  Well, I’ve always enjoyed them being at home for the most part, just some summers they’ve driven me a lot crazier than they have this summer.  David only has 4 more years of school & Molly, 6.  I’m going to be a might heartsick empty-nester in a very short time.

Tomorrow is the short day of school.  After class, I’d planned to stop off at the lake again for another picnic and swimming session, but I just realized tomorrow is Friday and I’ve got a bit of work to do at the office where I don’t die trying to do it all Monday.  Oh well, that’s what Saturday and Sunday can be for. 😉  I’ve finished all of my homework through the end of the month, save writing a 3 page paper on why one of my friends decided to become a nurse.  I think I can BS my way through 3 pages, 12 point, double spaced.

I’m still finding it hard to believe that this class comes along at a college level.  I remember doing the exact same thing in Career Explorations class in 7th grade.  Of course several courses have reminded me of the middle school years.  I look at what my kids have done in school and it makes me sorta sad, because they’re not doing the same type of stuff I was…it’s like they’ve regressed with education to a great degree.  I engage them in helping me “study” all along- not because I need to study, but because I hope some of it will rub off on them and they’ll carry some of the knowledge with them.

I’ve impressed my mother with some of my knowledge and that’s no easy feat.  My dad smiles more now than he used to.  I hate I waited so long to make them happy, as well as myself.

Oh well, some of us take longer to grow up than others I reckon.  Better late than never.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 19:27:05

    You’ve hit a key point, many of the things YOU were taught in grade school/junior high are now not taught until college because it is considered too “hard”… What really scares me is they are teaching revisionist history in many courses about the world wars, Korea and Vietnam. Also, there are more basketweaving 101 classes so everyone can “pass”… Lastly, there are less and less “vocational” classes available and those that are really don’t put people a leg up on vocations. All joking aside, if you gave half the problems you had in your last post to most HS graduates, I’d bet they could not pass it. I know the military, in the more technical schools has now regressed to a 9th grade educational requirement for the basis of the training documents. When I came in, those were written on the 11th grade level.

  2. Linda
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 19:33:57

    The average age of my nursing class was 38!

    America has ‘dumbed down’ the education they give the kids. It is because too many can’t pass the classes unless they do. Our country has dropped so far in the world of education, we ought to be ashamed of ourselves. We need to bring the level of education back up. If some can’t pass, then fail them and let them take the class over again, until they do.

    I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the 8th grade test that our grandparents used to take. It is tough. Here it is:

    http://mwhodges.home.att.net/1895-test.htm

    Have fun!

  3. Mariah
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 12:16:04

    I went to a high school that had a very high standard of education (especially considering it was a public one)… and when I got to college, and realized the level of education the other students brought there, it was nowhere near what I thought it should be. We were learning stuff in college that I had just learned in high school, and everyone else was complaining how hard all the “new material” was. Give me a break.

