Why do they keep tellin’ me I’m smart?

I was persuaded by one of my instructors to go take the Georgia WorkKeys test today.  Ok, there was a promise of money in it for me eventually, depending on my score and being one who won’t turn down money, well…I took the test.

And the proctor nearly shit her pants when she processed my score.

And she called all the other proctors over.

And they nearly shit their pants and danced funny little jigs.

I was the first one to ever test at their facility who scored 100% on the math portion and mostly like the highest over-all score they’ve ever had.

And they were in awe.  Especially when they realized I finished 2.5 hours earlier than I was supposed to.

However, the money hasn’t started flowing yet.  Heh.

Now this test, I take a bit of pride in having scored a perfect math score.  It wasn’t one that a blind monkey with half a paw could have aced, like most of my class tests have been.

A couple of sample math questions-

The farm where you just started working has a vertical cylindrical oil tank that is 2.5 feet across on the inside. The depth of the oil in the tank is 2 feet. If 1 cubic foot of space holds 7.48 gallons, about how many gallons of oil are left in the tank? (Not too tough, but the question on the actual test had a tank with a cylindrical top and conical bottom and I had to convert the  pounds of grain to bushels.)


You are a road contractor and you have analyzed a soil that you want to use for road fill. Your analysis shows that the soil contains 15% sand, 65% silt, and 20% clay. You need to know what the shrink-swell potential is for the soil because it will affect the durability of the road. Based on the diagram and table shown, what is the shrink-swell potential at a 30-inch depth for this soil?

locinfo6I scored “Gold”, 4 points shy of Platinum.  They asked me to pleaseeeeeeee come back and retake the one section of the test I missed a few questions on, where I could be ranked Platinum and give their center their first Platinum result.

I wasn’t gonna…then I found out how few Platinums there are across the country.  Now, mabye I will.  And yes, I’ve quit patting myself on the back before I ended up breaking my arm. 😉

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hammer
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 15:31:55

    Look at the big brains on snig!

  2. Linda
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 16:38:43

    Congratulations! When I went back to college to get a nursing degree, I graduated on the President’s Honor Roll. My kids couldn’t figure out how I did it. I told them, I studied!

  3. Easily Lost
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 18:20:04

    Pats Snig’s on the back so she doesn’t have to 😉
    Congrats!!

  4. Old NFO
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 21:38:08

    Not bad… so WHY did you miss 4 questions??? Hmmmm??? 🙂 Congrats!!!

  5. Mariah
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 10:15:46

    Woo hoo!

    I would have loved to see the looks on their faces. 🙂

    Awesome job. 🙂

  6. Rick
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 15:33:49

    Major Pats on the back. Congratulations.

  7. snigsspot
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 18:45:01

    Hammer- that’s my ass you’re looking at if it’s big. 😛

    Linda- Thank you. I look forward to getting into subject matter that requires needing to study! 🙂

    EL- Thank you, ma’am. You saved my arm from hurting. 😉

    NFO- One of these days Morton, one of these days…. 😛

    Mariah- The bad thing was, they did this all in front of the other test takers. Most of them were mouth breathing knuckle draggers. Their mouths fell open further. Those were funny looks. 😀

    Rick- Thank you kindly, sir! 🙂

